LTE for computers?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by tl01, Mar 6, 2018.

  1. tl01 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #1
    Any thoughts on why there is not an option for LTE on a laptop? Now that I am in the field a lot, I find it to be tedious to always be setting up a hot spot.
     
  2. JPack macrumors 68040

    JPack

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    #2
  3. SurfaceBookUser macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    #3
    I was considering the Lenovo X1 Thinkpad Carbon at one point, I think I recall it having LTE support.
     
  4. BrianBaughn macrumors 603

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #4
    As to your last point...is there not a battery-powered LTE router you could use?
     
  5. jerryk macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #5
    My phone will become a hotspot with one click.
     
  6. BrianBaughn macrumors 603

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #6
    Do you "one click" the home button, the side/top button or a volume button?;)
     
  7. MacDawg macrumors Core

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #7
    This request comes up from time to time, so apparently there is some demand for it
    How much I can't say

    For me, when I am out of the office, WiFi is usually available, either public or secured with access given to me
    Where it isn't, I have no problem using my phone as a hotspot, especially since I need it so infrequently

    I wouldn't want to pay for another data plan when my phone sits in my pocket with tons of unused data
     
  8. cube macrumors P6

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #8
    Many ThinkPads have a cellular option.

    Many come with the antennas and you can add a card later. But you have to be careful that a certain configuration might not have them.
     
  9. raqball macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    #9
    My X1C had LTE in it. I have to admit that I only used it once or twice and it was not all that useful since most places I go have WiFi and / or I can just hotspot from my phone.

    In hindsight, I do not think it was worth the extra $150 it tacked onto the price of the machine or the monthly access fee the carrier charged for it to be added to my data share plan..
     
  10. jeepik macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    #10
    Swipe down, 3d touch wifi button, tun on hotspot. technically 2 clicks :)
     
  11. jerryk macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #11

    Android phone. Put shortcut to turning on hotspot on main screen. 1 touch. Face unlock so no click:rolleyes:.
     
  12. mdbradigan macrumors regular

    mdbradigan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Location:
    Nashville, TN area
    #12
    Until carriers stop charging an extra $20 a month for each device for the same "bucket" of data usage, this is a no-go for my needs anyway. I'll happily pay for the data I use, but not extra money for the same device to use the same amount of overall data. Same goes for the LTE apple watch. Is just another way for Carriers to $crew people, IMO.

    If mobile business needs - travelling salesperson, consultant, etc. and company paying for the data though, could see this being very popular.
     
  13. tl01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #13
    I am mobile almost all the time...if I am sitting in my office I’m not building my business. And I don’t like tapping into free Wifi bc I transmit health info and other people’s personal info. I would much rather use my own password protect hotspot. Besides that fact that not everywhere I go has WiFi. I deal with the older end of the senior population and not many of them have WiFi and if they do they aren’t going to locate the password for me.
    --- Post Merged, Mar 7, 2018 ---
    No 3D Touch on my phone. And half the time it the computer doesn’t seem the phone...and the hot spot has to be cycled. And then it has to wait again to connect. It’s just a pain to do over the over again during the day. If I need my computer at 5 stops a day it becomes tedious.
     
  14. MacDawg macrumors Core

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #14
    If you have concerns with the public WiFi use a VPN
    And if the phone has problems with signals, it is likely the computer's LTE would as well

    I get you may have a use case for it, but most of us don't
    I just don't see it as a necessary addition to most computers... maybe a small group, but not most
    And I wouldn't want to pay for additional hardware in a computer that I wouldn't activate and use on another data plan
     
  15. hallux macrumors 68030

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #15
    Then Project Fi has the billing you'd like. One main line at $20/month, data charges at $10/GB (and ONLY what you use, if you use 100 MB, you get billed $1) and you can add a data-only SIM for free, pulling against the main account's data. Max billing for LTE data up to 15 GB in a month is $80 ($20 for the base plan plus 6 GB at $10 per). Data-only SIM cards will work in any T-Mobile compatible device while the main SIM is intended for use in Pixel/Nexus devices (though it COULD be used in an iPhone you lose the network switching).

    Some people say the data is expensive. I'm not a data hog, I find it perfectly reasonable, I haven't had a bill over $30 in a year while most are right around $25...
     
  16. jsnuff1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    NY
    #16

    Tedious?? You walk around with a LTE modem, why add another one? Hotspot shows up as a regular "wifi access point" on Macs...simply like picking another wifi networking. Does not get much easier than that.
     
  17. BarracksSi Suspended

    BarracksSi

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    #17
    Yessir. I tethered my work laptop to my phone just like this. Easy, and self-configurable, too, so that my laptop was the only one on my "network" (that I know of).

    Personally, I don't want to suck down huge amounts of cellular data via my laptop. That's where I tend to watch streaming video the most often.

    The funniest thing about this topic is, I'm considering going wifi-only for my next iPad. My phone does well enough already for a lot of things, and when I have a chance to sit down to use a tablet, there's almost always a wifi network I can use.
     
  18. Closingracer macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    #18

    You could use a VPN which would probably solve the security issue no?
     
  19. jerryk, Mar 9, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2018

    jerryk macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #19
    I am Wifi only on my iPads. Unless you need to have instant communication all the time Wifi is ubiquitous enough for my use. In our town they even have wifi in parks and throughout downtown.
     
  20. BarracksSi Suspended

    BarracksSi

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    #20
    No 3D touch on mine, either.

    Swipe up and long-press the wireless connections. You'll see Personal Hotspot appear in the lower right corner.

    (I think you use the hotspot already, but just reminding you and anyone who reads the thread that 3D Touch isn't a requirement)
     
  21. travelsheep macrumors 6502

    travelsheep

    Joined:
    May 30, 2013
    #21
    I have "hotspot via USB" always turned on on my iPhone. As soon as I click in my iPhone into my lightning cable (the other end connected to my MacBook Air) my iPhone is my USB powered hotspot.

    (that is, if my MacBook Air WIFI is turned off).
     
  22. JPack macrumors 68040

    JPack

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    #22
    Using a hotspot is like eating spaghetti with a spoon. You can do it, but it's not the best choice.

    1. Battery considerations. Why drain the battery on my iPhone (10 Whr) when my MacBook Pro has a 50 Whr battery? If I want to access the Internet, I don't want another layer of dependency.

    2. Having a modem on the notebook allows for low-power connected standby. If I'm syncing data to the cloud, my notebook computer should have the same data, notifications, and emails the moment I open the lid. On the Windows side, the Always Connected PC platform already allows for this.

    3. Signal strength. This will almost always be better on a notebook compared to a smartphone. The larger surface area on a notebook display allows for more complex MIMO antenna designs.
     
  23. Altis macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    #23
    I did that at work for ages, using either my own or my work iPhone. I did find that it had to be done in a certain order and timing to work half the time.

    The biggest issue for me was running down my phone battery very quickly, especially where reception was poor.

    Apple really needs to start focusing on battery life at this point, or at the very least use a standard cable like USB-C (which I was told was the standard and everything else is obsolete, but iPhones don't ship with them still).
     

Share This Page

22 March 6, 2018