Carrier LTE issues with AT&T iPhone 5s

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by bmac4, Apr 16, 2014.

  1. bmac4 macrumors 68040

    bmac4

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Location:
    Atlanta Ga
    #1
    So I have had my iPhone 5s since Jan. everything is been great. On Saturday I got to work and it showed I had LTE coverage, but nothing would connect. I had switch off LTE for the phone to connect to the network. I thought maybe it was just a bad reception day, and didn't think twice about it. Well this morning I went to look something up on Safari, and the thing just would not do anything. I then try to do a speed test, and again nothing would happen. I then turned off LTE and emails started showing up from early in the day, and it connected to the network.

    I wanted to see if this would be something I need to contact AT&T about, or is there something wrong with my iPhone?
     
  2. eddiec312 macrumors 6502

    eddiec312

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #2
    Have you tried restoring it? You should try that first and see if it still happens.

    Also, if you can try someone else's sim card and see if it still does it.
     
  3. bmac4 thread starter macrumors 68040

    bmac4

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Location:
    Atlanta Ga
    #3

    I have no restore it. I am not sure what that would do to help?
     
  4. eddiec312 macrumors 6502

    eddiec312

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #4
    Well that's the thing, we don't know if it is software related or hardware related right now.

    If you don't want to restore, go into settings and reset your network settings. See if that helps.
     
  5. bmac4 thread starter macrumors 68040

    bmac4

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Location:
    Atlanta Ga
    #5

    Oh ok. I will give it a try. Now if I did restore could I do it from a backup, or do I need to start new?
     
  6. cynics macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #6
    Unless I overlooked where you said you did the first thing I'd try is a reset. Power + home buttons until you see the Apple logo. No data is lost.
     
  7. bmac4 thread starter macrumors 68040

    bmac4

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Location:
    Atlanta Ga
    #7

    Ok will do. I have tried turning it off and back on. Thanks for the help.
     
  8. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #8
    If a reset doesn't do the trick, don't skip right to a full restore.

    Settings > General > Reset > Reset Network settings

    Note: you'll lose all your saved wifi passwords.
     
  9. bmac4 thread starter macrumors 68040

    bmac4

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Location:
    Atlanta Ga
    #9

    I did the network restore, and it seems to have done the trick. Thanks everyone for the help. I will update if I have anymore issues.
     
  10. bigjim83 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    #10
    I had to do the network reset when LTE first came into my area
     

Share This Page