LVDS Connector GONE FROM LOGIC BOARD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Nasty275ss, Mar 19, 2014.

1. Nasty275ss macrumors member

Ok to make this short n sweet, Im a newb to rippin Macs apart and dont wanna be a dumbass and just dive into an $800 computer n **** it up, I bought a Late Unibody 2008 MBP 15" cheap as **** and everything works great on External Display, except the fact that the LVDS connection port was gone when I opened it up so I bought a new 40 pin connector and going to try this task myself since I have experience in soldering this stuff, just never one of these, My question is, Is it possible? has anyone done it? Im sure ppl have done it, I just cant find **** anywhere about it. I got everything to do it correctly Hot air station, Kapton tape, solder, etc. and just wanna turn around and sell it fully functional, any input would help, thanks.

Im trying to post a pic. but its not responding for some reason.

2. Nasty275ss thread starter macrumors member

heres a pic.

Attached Files:

3. triplelucky macrumors regular

Yes its possible. I’ve been putting them on by hand, point to point. But its pretty close work.

I haven’t had much luck with trying to “drag solder” the pins.

On the last one I decided to see how it would go to try and Kapton tape it and reflow after I already had it on..

It actually went pretty well and didn’t melt or warp.

So on my next one I’m going to try and hot air it from the git go.

Thats with a preheater from the bottom and the hot air from the top.

Can you post a better pix of that pad area on yours?

4. Nasty275ss thread starter macrumors member

yea i can get another pic. for u... thats wut i was wondering? doesit matter if some of the solder touches on each pin, cuz thats gonna be hard not to get it to touch, and what do u mean uve been puttin them on by hand, i really appreciate the feedback, i have never done one of these yet and could use ANNNY tips, i appreciate it man thanx

5. triplelucky, Mar 19, 2014