M-Audio FastTrack USB + GarageBand: Record in Stereo?

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by beatsme, Apr 14, 2007.

  1. beatsme macrumors 65816

    beatsme

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #1
    just set up one of these, but I had to set the input to Channel 1 Mono. If I set it to Channels 1 and 2 Stereo, the audio would only record on one channel, the left to be exact. Is there something I'm missing here, or does the thing record in mono only?
     
  2. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #2
    are you recording a mono signal or stereo signal? or, same question a different way: how many mics are you using?
     
  3. beatsme thread starter macrumors 65816

    beatsme

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #3
    just one...this is a thing I set up for a friend
     
  4. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #4
    one mic = mono. there's no reason to record a mono signal to a stereo track (and you'll most likely get what you're seeing).
     
  5. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #5
    i forgot to add: your setup will do stereo, but you need two mics. iirc, what your setup will *not* do is record two simultaneous mono signals, but i could be wrong about that.
     
  6. beatsme thread starter macrumors 65816

    beatsme

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #6
    that's cool. My only real concern is/was that the audio playback only came out of the left channel, but switching the input to 1 Channel Mono fixed that. And my friend seems happy with the setup, so no big deal.
     

Share This Page