Become a MacRumors Supporter for $25/year with no ads, private forums, and more!

wittgenstein

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 22, 2016
10
5
I’ve been really enjoying my experience with M1 MacBook Air (8-core GPU version) since I got it 4 days ago, until it unexpectedly refused altogether to wake up from sleep! It happened while the MacBook had 100% battery and was plugged in to the charger.

After pressing and holding the power button, no matter how long I hold it, the only response I get is repetitive, very silent rapid clicking sound coming from somewhere around the power button. The clicking goes on for around 5 seconds after pressing it. The same happens after connecting the power cable.

Normally I would reset the SMC if such a problem occured, but M1 Macs don’t have it. Do you have any other suggestions? Where I live, I’m likely going to have to wait until Monday to get any response from Apple.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JuanMiguelDiaz

chscag

Contributor
Feb 17, 2008
4,485
1,734
Fort Worth, Texas
Do you have another Mac besides the M1? If you do, there is a way to startup a dead M1 with another Mac. Do a search on the procedure, or, better yet if you can contact Apple support for instructions.
 

wittgenstein

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 22, 2016
10
5
Just a had a call with Apple Support. I've been told that M1's reset their SMC simply after pressing the power button. They've been really surprised with my issues and said that it was the first time they've heard about something like that happening with M1 MacBook. Unfortunately I'm going to have to deliver it for repairs to the Apple Service Provider.

Do you have another Mac besides the M1? If you do, there is a way to startup a dead M1 with another Mac. Do a search on the procedure, or, better yet if you can contact Apple support for instructions.

I only have 2012 MBP and 2013 MBA - both of which don't have USB-C port, so sadly I have no means of connecting them with my new MacBook and using Apple Configurator 2.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JuanMiguelDiaz

chscag

Contributor
Feb 17, 2008
4,485
1,734
Fort Worth, Texas
Just a had a call with Apple Support. I've been told that M1's reset their SMC simply after pressing the power button. They've been really surprised with my issues and said that it was the first time they've heard about something like that happening with M1 MacBook. Unfortunately I'm going to have to deliver it for repairs to the Apple Service Provider.



I only have 2012 MBP and 2013 MBA - both of which don't have USB-C port, so sadly I have no means of connecting them with my new MacBook and using Apple Configurator 2.
You can purchase an adapter which will allow you to go from your USB 3 port to USB-C and then use the Apple Configurator 2. I would try that first.
 

Samson Lau

macrumors newbie
Feb 16, 2020
2
3
I’ve been really enjoying my experience with M1 MacBook Air (8-core GPU version) since I got it 4 days ago, until it unexpectedly refused altogether to wake up from sleep! It happened while the MacBook had 100% battery and was plugged in to the charger.

After pressing and holding the power button, no matter how long I hold it, the only response I get is repetitive, very silent rapid clicking sound coming from somewhere around the power button. The clicking goes on for around 5 seconds after pressing it. The same happens after connecting the power cable.

Normally I would reset the SMC if such a problem occured, but M1 Macs don’t have it. Do you have any other suggestions? Where I live, I’m likely going to have to wait until Monday to get any response from Apple.
I also have similar problem,my two day m1 air 16g 512G, just die, unlucky I have tried your’s way to recover it but not success. I will go to apple store to check it.
 

wittgenstein

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 22, 2016
10
5
I also have similar problem,my two day m1 air 16g 512G, just die, unlucky I have tried your’s way to recover it but not success. I will go to apple store to check it.

Did it die while plugged into USB-C dongle or peripheral device?

I've already had this happen to me twice - after Apple repaired it for me by replacing the logic board, it died the second time, just 2 days after getting it back! I really have no idea what to do after it gets repaired/replaced again for me - I'd be really scared of using it for fear of accidentally bricking it for the 3rd time!
 

jerryk

Contributor
Nov 3, 2011
7,039
3,921
SF Bay Area
Did it die while plugged into USB-C dongle or peripheral device?

I've already had this happen to me twice - after Apple repaired it for me by replacing the logic board, it died the second time, just 2 days after getting it back! I really have no idea what to do after it gets repaired/replaced again for me - I'd be really scared of using it for fear of accidentally bricking it for the 3rd time!
I use USB-C dongles with mine all the time with no issue. Which device(s) (Brand and Model) are you plugging in?

Also, are you using the charger and cable that came with the system?
 

wittgenstein

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 22, 2016
10
5
I use USB-C dongles with mine all the time with no issue. Which device(s) (Brand and Model) are you plugging in?

Also, are you using the charger and cable that came with the system?

The suspected "M1-killer" is Vayox VA0011. It didn't seem like cheap one, but now that I'm trying to Google it, it doesn't appear to be anywhere near a reputable brand.

Yes, it died while using original charger and cable, but through this cursed USB-C dongle-adapter.
 

Samson Lau

macrumors newbie
Feb 16, 2020
2
3
Somebody else on here had exactly the same problem after just 1 or 2 days use.
I believe they had to take it in to Apple for repairs/replacement.

Did it die while plugged into USB-C dongle or peripheral device?

I've already had this happen to me twice - after Apple repaired it for me by replacing the logic board, it died the second time, just 2 days after getting it back! I really have no idea what to do after it gets repaired/replaced again for me - I'd be really scared of using it for fear of accidentally bricking it for the 3rd time!
no, I just use the M1 Air with my external mon, and a Logitech MX Master 2S,(I have use it with my 16" MBP or a thinkpad X1 all the time) before it has gone.
I have to take apple store for the check, they open to take some test after they said that will replace on for me later (due to mine are BTO config, they need to build), I think will arrive at Mid of Jan 2021...
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Quackers

Quackers

macrumors 68000
Sep 18, 2013
1,929
691
Manchester, UK
no, I just use the M1 Air with my external mon, and a Logitech MX Master 2S, before it has gone.
I have to take apple store for the check, they open to take some test after they said that will replace on for me later (due to mine are BTO config, they need to build), I think will arrive at Mid of Jan 2021...
Not great but at least you'll get a new one, again.
What a shame.
 

davidekkk

macrumors newbie
Dec 20, 2020
1
0
Hi guys,
I've got exactly the same problem as @wittgenstein. A few days ago I got my MBP 16GB ram (I waited for it 1,5 months on delivery, but nvm). Yesterday I plugged in a USB C green cell AK50 hub and connected the power adapter to the hub. Today like every day I used to wanted to turn on my laptop and start my work. I lifted the laptop hatch
to wake up and MBP didn't work. Seems like bricked or dead. I tried many options like "push the power button for 10 sec" etc and it doesn't work at all.

What I have to do guys?
 

Ont

macrumors newbie
Aug 18, 2016
29
27
I have the same problem!!! Using MacBook Pro m1 for 7 days. It does after I started using it with my monitor (clamshell). After I disconnect from the monitor, I cannot turn it on again.
I have also using usb dongle for hdmi.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Poivremer

lethal753

macrumors newbie
Nov 23, 2015
29
9
I have the same problem!!! Using MacBook Pro m1 for 7 days. It does after I started using it with my monitor (clamshell). After I disconnect from the monitor, I cannot turn it on again.
I have also using usb dongle for hdmi.
Did you connect the power directly to the provided official Apple power adapter? I wanted to know as I always use external monitor using a usb c to hdmi adapter from a 3rd party. But always use official power adapter.
 

Ont

macrumors newbie
Aug 18, 2016
29
27
Did you connect the power directly to the provided official Apple power adapter? I wanted to know as I always use external monitor using a usb c to hdmi adapter from a 3rd party. But always use official power adapter.
I use third party power adapter. GAN
 

erikbutz

macrumors newbie
Nov 21, 2010
5
3
@wittgenstein, sorry for your troubles - two repairs, that is rough!

I am having this same problem with a brand new M1 MacBook Pro. I was using a Mokin USB-C hub I just got form Amazon with the power plugged in through the hub. I've read in other posts that this problem, which I think I will call "clicking brick," has happened to others without the "help" of a USB-C hub. Well, off to the Apple store I go with my expensive paper weight. Thankfully I still have my previous MB as a backup for now.
 

newm1mbooka

macrumors newbie
Dec 23, 2020
1
0
New MacBook Air M1
Used for less than 10 hours-- seemed very nice when it did turn on and fast to load.
Also will not turn on, even the mousepad doesn't click
No external peripherals used, no USB-C devices used
Contacted Apple and will need to take in for repair.
 

Taisho

macrumors newbie
Dec 27, 2020
7
5
Hey everyone - I just had my M1 Macbook Air stop working as well. The screen is black, and the power button is just not responsive. Oddly enough I recently switched to using the Mokin USB-C hub just like erikbutz, so I am thinking that is the culprit. I am working with Mac support at the moment to see what my options are...
 

anonymous888

macrumors member
Nov 24, 2018
74
46
India
I use third party power adapter. GAN
How is the GAN charger working out for you? I bought one from AliExpress. It worked fine for days then the MacBook stopped charging (was displaying as plugged in). It wouldn't even charge with the original charger.

To my surprise, even my iPad stopped charging with both the GAN and original charger. After trying a few different combinations (Power Plugs and cables) eventually both devices started charging again.

The same thing happened once again after that and now I am afraid to use the GAN charger. I just don't get how both devices stopped charging temporarily. Even when using an original charger and original cable for both of them.
 

anonymous888

macrumors member
Nov 24, 2018
74
46
India
Hey everyone - I just had my M1 Macbook Air stop working as well. The screen is black, and the power button is just not responsive. Oddly enough I recently switched to using the Mokin USB-C hub just like erikbutz, so I am thinking that is the culprit. I am working with Mac support at the moment to see what my options are...
It's just scary. A brand new machine. You use an essential accessory such as a USB hub and it can stop working just like that. Apple needs to get its act together.

I use a USB C hub to charge my M1 MBA (it's just convenient), now I am scared lol. :p
 

Marty_Macfly

macrumors 6502a
Apr 26, 2020
782
174
It's just scary. A brand new machine. You use an essential accessory such as a USB hub and it can stop working just like that. Apple needs to get its act together.

I use a USB C hub to charge my M1 MBA (it's just convenient), now I am scared lol. :p


Hi A again 🙂



I know what you are saying. There are other posts on this forum with the same kind of concerns.

The general consensus is to pay the extra and get a branded hub, from a reputable source.

Cheap electronics from a unknown source is cheap for a reason. Best not risk your expensive pride and joy, especially if power delivery is concerned etc.



Best wishes
Martin
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1240766 and d.o.p.

HatMine

macrumors member
May 31, 2016
88
104
C:/
Sounds like you guys are frying your logic boards, or at least some of the components on them. It seems like these dongles are not regulating the power correctly. So to be safe you should probably only use the included charging cable and adapter and plug them directly in to your computer.
 

Zazoh

macrumors 65816
Jan 4, 2009
1,443
1,013
San Antonio, Texas
Sounds like you guys are frying your logic boards, or at least some of the components on them. It seems like these dongles are not regulating the power correctly. So to be safe you should probably only use the included charging cable and adapter and plug them directly in to your computer.

In deed. Why spend $1300+ on an electronic device and then save $7 on a non-Apple dongle.
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.