m4v file is missing after Handbrake finishes

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Rob9874, Jan 7, 2014.

  1. Rob9874 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    #1
    I'm new to blu-ray ripping. Thought I'd start with A New Hope. Created the mkv file with MakeMKV, converted to m4v with Handbrake using the ATV3 preset. Saved to my desktop. I see the icon as the file is converting, but when it finishes, the file is nowhere to be found. Not on my desktop, where the path indicates (and where I saw it during the process), and nowhere when I search spotlight. Am I doing something wrong? Is there copy protection on Star Wars discs that makes it delete?
     
  2. priitv8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #2
    HandBrake should have left you a log file (source file name with .TXT extension) as well. You probably can also see the most recent log in it's Activity window after conversion has ended.
    What does the log say?
     
  3. Infocalypse1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    #3
    Check the default folder

    About my only criticism of Handbrake is file handling. I have had the same experience numerous times, when I intended to have the output stored in a specific folder, and it ended up in the default folder. While you can set a default output folder, if you haven't, the file will go to a sub-folder in the program folder (/users/program file/handbrake).

    On the other hand, as the previous poster pointed out, check the log file. If the the source file cannot be read (e.g., corrupted file) the process will abort, and there will be either a truncated file saved, or no file at all. I have never used HB for ripping of copy protected DVDs, so cannot comment on that. Mostly use it for format conversion.
     
  4. Rob9874 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    #4
    The log said my desktop, which is where the path showed on Handbrake as I was converting the file. Users/Rob9874/Desktop/A_New_Hope.mp4. I saw the file icon on my desktop as it was converting, but when it finished, it was gone.
     
  5. westrock2000 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    #5
    Possibly, make sure you have "Large File" enabled so that it can make a file larger then 4GB.
     
  6. ramjam macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    #6
    Its frustrating, I hope the * Large file fix that.
    I think its something can be solved with a little UX advice. Hope developers take that in count in future versions.
     
  7. Ritsuka macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #7
    The next version (0.10) won't have this issue anymore.
     

Share This Page