MA356LL/A 1,1 for home studio recording?

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by willyredeemed, Oct 25, 2013.

  1. willyredeemed macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #1
    would the specs on this mac be sufficient for me to do home recording on? would be only tracking a couple tracks at a time...no more than 16 -20 tracks in all. planning on using reaper or garage band. or, should i look at other options?

    http://www.macofalltrades.com/Apple-Mac-Pro-2x-3-0GHz-Dual-Core-4-Cores-p/mp-30-4c-e06a.htm

    Apple Part Number: MA356LL/A

    System configuration:
    Two 3.0GHz Dual Core Intel Xeon 5160 processors
    4.0GB (4x1.0GB) PC2-5300 (667MHz) DDR2 ECC fully-buffered DIMM, supports up to 32.0GB
    500GB Serial ATA hard disk drive @ 7200RPM, includes four (4) drive trays
    DVD-RW/CD-RW SuperDrive-DL
    NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT graphics with 256MB GDDR2 memory
    No AirPort Extreme card
    No Bluetooth
    2- Dual-link DVI ports
    5- USB ports
    2- FireWire 400 ports
    2- FireWire 800 ports
    2- Ethernet ports
    4- PCI Express (PCIe) expansion slots (video card installed in one)
     
  2. BigRed1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    #2
    I do close to that on my 2007 Mac mini with a Core Duo 1.83 and 2 gigs of RAM, so you should be fine with that machine. Doesn't Reaper have a demo? Give that and GarageBand a try. I think Logic is a great deal for $200. What kind of music do you plan on making?
     
  3. willyredeemed thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #3
    thanks for the info. reaper has a free demo...their interface is pretty legit. for recording, im mainly working on songs ala rock ballads, ambient, indie, acoustic, etc.
     
  4. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #4
    Yes that machine is overkill, more then you need but the price is right. I'd get more RAM. Also get a large size monitor 20 tracks uses a lot of screen space

    Logic is the reason you are buying a Mac.
     
  5. willyredeemed thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #5
    Yeah @ logic. I plan to upgrade ram to at least 8gb...it was just cheaper for me to buy and install than have them do it.
     

Share This Page