Mac 1,1 Video Card Upgrade - Worth Doing?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by brenden, Apr 19, 2013.

  1. brenden macrumors regular

    brenden

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    #1
    I have a Mac Pro 1,1 2.66Ghz with the 5150. I just ordered a pair of Xeon 2.66 5355's. The system has 8Gig memory, and an 256GB SSD, with a 7300GT graphics card.

    I mainly use the system for internet browsing, Video Rendering, iTunes, Large Data Mgmt..

    How much of an improvement in performance will dropping a Radeon 5770 into the system? I understand it will allow me to use additional monitors but im really just wondering if its with the $250 from a pure performance aspect.
     
  2. ssgbryan macrumors 6502

    ssgbryan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    #2
    Yes, you will see an improvement.

    The main one being that the 7300s were problematic for :apple:.

    Mine lasted less than 90 days before it died.
     
  3. TheEasterBunny macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Location:
    Delaware
    #3
    I have the same Pro.
    If I were to upgrade the video card, I would go with a GTX5xx or 6xx to get the open cl/gl. I have a 430 and it has basic open cl/gl and seems to render 3D and video and PS CS5 runs smoother
     
  4. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #4
    Short version: GTX 6XX requires Mountain Lion.

    Long version: Read the sticky.
     
  5. TheEasterBunny macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Location:
    Delaware
    #5
    I apologize cal6, you are correct, the GTX6xx needs ML, so to run one he would need a windows partition or bootload ML. My fault, I have been thinking about doing something similar with mine. I'm just not sure I want to go that far yet, and if I do, I may just build a hackintosh.
     
  6. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #6
    The 570 or 580 will work in Lion tho?

    Assuming I supply the power however it's needed.
     
  7. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #7
    I tried to install Mountain Lion onto my 2,1 in the fairly early days of the hack. I hit a 4GB RAM limit, extremely long boot times and very laggy performance overall. That's why I sold it and put a 2009/2010 hybrid together.

    Best. Decision. Ever.

    That's my understanding. I believe NVidia's web drivers are advised in this case.
     
  8. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #8
    Based on the tasks you will be doing, I think you're good with the Radeon 5770HD. The 7300GT is not too good a card as it usually breaks down due to its weak capacitor and lack of built in fan. :)
     
  9. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #9
    Thanks!

    Well, I guess that decides it for me then. Now just to pick between the 570 or 580 (wondering about 590??? - currently no absorbed information about that model). As I think I would always like to be able to boot into Lion or sell the machine in a more natural state (Lion).

    Dang it too that 680 was looking so sweet! :p
     
  10. tjlazer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA USA
    #10
  11. 92jlee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales, UK
    #11
    The difference is light and day. The 7300 is a terrible card.

    I've got a video on my youtube (92JMFL) of an ATI 6870 working out of the box on a 1,1. Haven't had any problems with it at all. Such an improvement!
     
  12. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #12
    I know that there have been a plethora of postings regarding the total power requirements of the 580 and I really don't want to start another debate here. ;)

    However, I'd just like to state that I wouldn't install a card that exceeds the 225W design cap without an additional power supply.
     
  13. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #13
    Me neither! With all 6 internal SATA ports populated and powered it does present a slight challenge tho. But I like challenges, they give something to do with my free time. :D
     
  14. tjlazer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA USA
    #14
    Why someone would get such a high end power hungry card for a 2006 Mac Pro is beyond me. The video card costs more than their old Mac Pro. It's overkill. Get something older that's a big improvement and cheaper. Or get a newer Mac Pro.
     
  15. Tesselator, Apr 20, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2013

    Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #15
    Well a 580 here is only $200 max and I see quite a few selling for around $150. The 570's go for between $100 and $150. So that doesn't seem like such big investment to me. A 580 in a MP1,1 for example, will indeed be faster than a 550 in a MP1,1 or any of the previous cards so it's not useless to upgrade the MP1,1 as high as possible.

    And also to note is that the MP1,1 with x5365 or x5355 isn't all that much slower than a MP5,1 six-core. The 5.1 zippyness factor over the MP1,1 is maybe a factor of 1.8 or so. 2013 or 2014 may bring a mac I feel is worth upgrading to - or may bring 4,1 slash 5,1 prices down enough to go there but currently for what I'm doing there's no reason or need to upgrade to a newer mac.
     
  16. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #16
    I agree with your first point. Even PCIe 1 at 16x speed allows GTX 5XX series cards room to breath. However...

    I can't agree with your second point. Having moved from an octo 3.0 GHz 2,1 to a 4,1/5,1 hex 3.33 GHz hybrid, the difference is frankly staggering. A much greater improvement than I was expecting.
     
  17. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #17
    Yeah, a 1.8x to 2.0x zippiness increase feels nice huh?! ;)
     
  18. TheEasterBunny macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Location:
    Delaware
    #18
    Over kill?

    Besides people seem to forget when a newer Mac is needed, all those cards and drives can actually be moved too, it's not like they have to be thrown out with bathwater...
     
  19. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #19
    Yup, "newer Mac" or even (OMG!!!) a pee-cee... :eek:

    I wonder if the 680 would work with the MP1,1 transformed into a Windows PC actually... Hmmm...
     
  20. TheEasterBunny macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Location:
    Delaware
    #20
    My understanding is that it is a driver/support issue within Mac OS, not a hardware one (other than the PCIe1.0 vs. 2.0 thing)
    Unless you mean a Mac 680 working in windows (bootcamp) I wonder too in that case

    OMG, almost forgot the power connector thing too! But that's just a soldering iron or extra PSU away from a fix
     

Share This Page