mac access through iphone...

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by whyrichard, Jul 6, 2007.

  1. whyrichard macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #1
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    You have to forward that port (5050) on the router to your Mac, and/or put your mac in the router DMZ.
     
  3. whyrichard thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #3
    how do i do that?

    .... kinda a networking newbie...


    r.
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
  5. whyrichard thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #5
    apple all the way.

    airport extreme (white teardrop) hooked up to dsl modem, two airport expresses as wds...

    thanks for your help!



    r.
     
  6. alabare macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #6
    If they can get this program to allow full control of a live screen on my mac via my iphone, this would be huge! Especially for a degenerate wanting to play poker on his favorite site.

    Great work!
     
  7. MBM007 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Location:
    Boulder
    #7
    ??

    I'm trying to connect from outside my network as well.....I have a Netgear modem...anyone know how to make it work???
    thanks in advance
     
  8. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #8
    You have a couple of options...part of the instructions are the same, so do either (1) or (2) and then do the rest of it.

    Either way, first go to: Airport admin utility -> your base station -> network. You should have the distribute IP addresses box checked, and also the "share a single IP..." one. Under that, it should say "Use 10.0.1.1 addressing" or "Use 192.168.1.1" addressing or something like that. Make a note of which one you have selected. Now go to the Internet tab. Under the configure TCP/IP stuff, note the number in the IP address box. Now go to:

    1) You can put the Mac in the DMZ. This means that the AEBS will not provide any sort of firewall service to it, and every port that you open on the Mac's software firewall will be accessible over the internet. To do this, you run the airport admin utility, open up the base station, go to Airport -> Basestation Options -> select enable default host at... and put a large number in the box (201 is a good choice). Make a note of the whole IP address it makes (the number you enter is the last piece, so it will be 10.0.1.201 or 192.168.1.201 or something like that).

    2) Or, you can just open specific ports. In the admin utility -> your basestation -> port mapping tab -> click add, enter in that port number (it was 5010, sorry, not 5050) in both the public and the private ports. Make a note of the whole IP address listed under private address.

    Now, go to system prefs -> network -> airport -> tcp/ip. Change the following:

    Configure IPv4: Manually
    IP Address: Whatever full IP address I asked you to note in (1) or (2) -- the address like 10.0.1.201 or 192.168.1.201.
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0, or if there's something else there already, leave it alone.
    Router: Should already be filled in, probably 10.0.1.1 or 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers: Put in the same thing that's listed under router.
    Click Apply Now.

    Now, remember up above there was the IP address from the Internet tab of the Airport configuration utility? The one that was NOT like 10.0.1... or 192.168.1....? Now, you should just be able to put that IP address into telekinesis in place of your intranet IP address, and it should work from outside the local network.
     
  9. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #9
    Please keep in mind that this new toy is NOT very secure.
     
  10. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #10
    That's a very good point... you should be careful about doing this. Once you open up that port to the public internet, it's not just your iPhone that can access it -- it's every computer or device that points to that IP address and open port. But those are the basic steps, for what it's worth.
     

Share This Page