Mac and PC to one Thunderbolt display, or...

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by fahqu001, Jul 11, 2014.

  1. fahqu001 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #1
    I have a Mac Mini and Thunderbolt display, and a Dell tower and Dell screen. I would like to connect the screens so I can use them with either system. Right now the Mac works with my Thunderbolt display and the Dell only works with the Dell display. I would like to toggle between the two systems so I can use both screens with either computer by simply flipping a switch.


    Or, even better, is it possible to have dual Thunderbolt displays and run OSX on one screen and Parallels/VM Ware on the other, running both OS' simultaneously and not have to switch back and forth?

    In layman's terms, could someone direct me with to the equipment I would need or if the operating of 2 OS' at the same time is even possible.

    Hopefully this makes sense. If any clarification is needed, please let me know. Many thanks in advance.
     
  2. Outrigger macrumors 68000

    Outrigger

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #2
    Your Dell won't work with the TBD, but your mac can work with both screens.
     
  3. fahqu001 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #3
    Are there no adapaters???
     
  4. mfram macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    #4
    Nope. That's the huge limitation of the TB Display. It will only work with TB-equipped Macs. And it only has one input. Most other monitors have multiple inputs.
     
  5. Outrigger macrumors 68000

    Outrigger

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #5
    Doesn't work like that where a simple adapter magically makes everything ok.
     
  6. Sylonien macrumors regular

    Sylonien

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    #6
    ^ That's why I will never buy it. Such stupid limitation. No HDMI? No DisplayPort?
    I love my Apple stuff. Biggest fan. But some of their products are stupid. :confused:
     
  7. twinoneseven macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    #7
    Right, It will only work with TB-equipped Macs. And it only has one input. [​IMG]
    Most other monitors have multiple inputs. thanks
     

Share This Page