Mac apps keep freezing

Discussion in 'macOS' started by scottahamilton, Aug 16, 2008.

  1. scottahamilton macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    #1
    Hi guys,
    In a bit of a panic here.
    In the past few hours (after multiple restarts) my mac's applications keep freezing.
    Mozilla, second life, finder, iTunes ect.

    I don't know why they are doing it, but I get the beach ball on one app, then i click on the window behind it, then that freezes, then the entire computer freezes for about 20-30 seconds before returning to it's normal state.

    This has been happening ever 5 minutes or so.

    Can anyone offer any ideas? :confused:

    - Scott.
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    What are your computer specs/system?
    Have you added any new software recently? Downloads?
    Do you have any "hacks" to your OS?
    Do you have the latest version of the OS?

    You can try the usual...

    Repair permissions
    Reset the PRAM

    But a few more details might be helpful

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  3. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    Bad or loose RAM could be causing it. Try reseating the RAM. Pull out the chips and push them back in, the rule is push them with your thumbs until they hurt. (Your thumbs, not the RAM chips)

    EDIT: Alternatively, try running the hardware test. Put in the first restore disc and boot holding C then choose Apple hardware test from the menu bar.
     
  4. scottahamilton thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    #4
    Certainly.
    Heres what I can get.

    My mac is a OS X 10.5.4
    Processor: 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    Bus speed: 800 MHz
    1 GB 677 MHz DDR2 SDRAM

    I don't have any hacks, and the most recent thing I've downloaded was a BBC video from a co-worker.

    How would I reset permissions and PRAM?

    - Scott.
     
  5. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    To repair permissions goto disk utility -> Then choose the volume and press Repair Permissions.

    Reset your PRAM instructions are here
     
  6. scottahamilton thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    #6
    Thanks! Doing the first step now!
    I'm on a iMac (which I forgot to mention) so I don't think I can take anything apart, then again, I could be wrong!

    What will happen if i do the PRAM? That's not like a systems restore is it?
    Thanks! Sorry I'm a total newbie when it comes to this stuff!

    - Scott.
     
  7. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #7
    No, it just resets the settings that the computer uses to manage the HW (Easiest way to explain it) Forcing it to recheck everything.

    Before you take anything apart, do the HW test from the CD. It will tell you if there are any issues.
     
  8. scottahamilton thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    #8
    Righteo,
    I've just done the second step. It made a rather satisfying clunk sound so I hope it worked.

    What CD would I need?
    I have three, the main OS X installer, and two disks with the information, or app contents in them.
     
  9. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #9
    There should be two gray ones, that say OS X Restore, or Install, DVD Disc 1 and Disc 2 - Use Disc 1.
     
  10. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #10
    You can also create another account to see if you have problems there as well

    But you are getting good advice... I'm just keeping up to make sure you are on the right track

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  11. scottahamilton thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    #11
    Oh lord! I just tore the whole office up.
    But I found it!
    Wish me luck :D
     
  12. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #12
    Good luck?

    It's inserting a disc, not surgery. (Yet.)

    Anyway, I hope it finds the problem for you.
     
  13. scottahamilton thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    #13
    Hm, that didn't find any problems. Thank you very much for your help.
    Perhaps it'll all blow away. It's been the first glitch I've had with the mac since Christmas. :confused:

    I'm very worried, everything is on this mac.
     
  14. scottahamilton thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    #14
    I've been able to look at the behavior of it closely now.
    If, for example, I'm on firefox. It will freeze perhaps when the page is loading, or when it's loaded, if I try and touch another application, that will also freeze. After about 20-30 seconds everything will return back to normal.

    I don't know whether that'll help more. Is there a phone number for technical support available for iMacs?

    - Scott.
     
  15. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #15
    So is it just Firefox that causes the freeze?

    US number: 1-800-APL-CARE (1-800-275-2273)
     
  16. erikistired macrumors 6502

    erikistired

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Location:
    (770)
    #16
    what made a satisfying clunk sound?
     
  17. scottahamilton thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    #17
    That's what I thought at first. But it's happened with both iTunes and Second life.

    I'm in Swansea, Wales (UK)
     
  18. scottahamilton thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    #18
    The mac, I think it was the disk drive. It's the kind of sound that makes you think it works. (But it's still broken!)
     
  19. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
  20. scottahamilton thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    #20

    Thank you! Your a life saver :D
     
  21. erikistired macrumors 6502

    erikistired

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Location:
    (770)
    #21
    if the hard drive made a clunk sound you might have a failing drive, which could cause lockups and whatnot.
     
  22. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #22
    Clunk may just be the way he describes the drive's normal sound of checking for a disc.
     
  23. erikistired macrumors 6502

    erikistired

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Location:
    (770)
    #23
    yeah i know my dvd drive does that, that's why i asked. in my head i heard the clunk of the drive arm of a hard drive banging around when i first read it tho, so i figured i'd inquire further.
     
  24. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #24
    So, is it just firefox that causes this, if so, you might try reinstalling firefox ...
     
  25. scottahamilton thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    #25
    I've just removed it completely, and iTunes has done the same thing, followed by Safari.
     

Share This Page