Mac as an access point for iPod Touch

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by milenkod, Aug 1, 2008.

  1. milenkod macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Dublin, CA
    #1
    Currently at a hotel with a wired broadband connection to my Macbook. Is there any way to make my Macbook into an AP to provide my iPod Touch with a WiFi connection?
     
  2. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    System Preferences -> Sharing -> Network

    The select from Built-In Ethernet to Airport, click start. Done.

    TEG
     
  3. dasikes macrumors 6502a

    dasikes

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Alabama
    #3
    Good job! I didn't know that...
     
  4. iOrlando macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #4
    woah woah.. so you can turn a wired mac into a pseudo airport express that way an ipod touch can get online?
     
  5. milenkod thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Dublin, CA
    #5
    Yes.. Thats exactly what I was looking to do and the instructions were spot on. I got my MacBook connected to the free eathernet broadband and I'm in bed typing this response on my iPod touch accross the room on the other side of my suite... SWEET!
     
  6. youashwag macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    #6
    wait are u serious??? Can u do this with an imac also? Does it matter wat kind of broadband connection it is?
     
  7. milenkod thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Dublin, CA
    #7
    I believe so. Its a feature of the OS, not the device. I had my brother-in-law set it up on his MacBook pro running Leopard....worked just the same.
     
  8. thebeesknees macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
  9. youashwag macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    #9
    so how do i configure it where i can use my broadband connection from my imac to share the connection with my ipod touch?
     
  10. dasikes macrumors 6502a

    dasikes

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Alabama
    #10
    Sure does!
     
  11. youashwag macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    #11
    when i go to system preferences<sharing theres no network tab or anything so how do i set it up?
     
  12. JAT macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Location:
    Mpls, MN
    #12
    Do you have any tabs? Are you sure you are in the right place? I have 3 in Tiger: Services, Firewall, Internet.

    Internet is the one you want.
     
  13. youashwag macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    #13
    when i go to system preferences<sharing i see a bunch of checkboxes to the left and one of them is internet sharing. is that the one i want?wen i check that box it asks me where i want to share my connection from and to computers using ethernet, airport, or fireware? so which ones do i check to use here?
     
  14. ANewMacGuy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #14
    Another question along that line. I use a sprint wireless USB adaptor at my house or while traveling. Can that kind of wireless signal be shared with my ipod? Novatel CDMA connection. I don't see any obvious way to do so. BTW, I have 20 IMac.
     
  15. dasikes macrumors 6502a

    dasikes

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Alabama
    #15
    Check Airport.
     
  16. florite macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    #16
    I have been trying to do this for a long time and am really pleased that it can be done - How do I put a password on this network?
    Thank you
     

Share This Page