mac being extra slow

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by g-whiz, Jun 2, 2011.

  1. g-whiz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    #1
    hello im new here so pardon my noobiness lol. i have an imac. a kinda older version of it im not sure how old tho. anyways it takes atleast 15 mins to get to the login screen and another 15 after that sometimes even longer. im not sure why it is doing this. any reasons why ity would be? ill cooperate as much as i can.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    What Mac with what Mac OS X version do you use?

    ______________________________________________________
    Maybe have a look at Activity Monitor (Applications / Utilities /) and select All Processes and sort by CPU to see what the culprit may be.
    Also check the "System Memory" tab to see what your "Page ins:", "Page outs:" and "Swap used:" are.

    image below uses sorting by CPU as an example
    [​IMG]
    Further reading:
    ______________________________________________________​
     
  3. g-whiz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    #3
    version: 10.5.8

    model: imac g5

    page ins:347.81 MB
    page outs:0 Bytes
    swap used:0 Bytes

    as for the cpu readings is it all the ones that read 0.0 that are the culprits? how do i tell?
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    The one that have the highest number, like the "2.8" in my example.

    But maybe the HDD is just dying and you need to replace it.
    http://www.ifixit.com/Browse/iMac_G5

    Btw, what exact MODEL IDENTIFIER has your Mac?
     
  5. g-whiz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
  6. g-whiz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    #6
    ok do i stop the program or do i need to delete. it keeps changing how do i know if its program i need.
     
  7. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #7
    What exact program are you talking about and how much CPU does it use?
    The "2.8" in my example screenshot means, that 2.8% out of 200% available CPU is used, thus it is okay. As the screenshot was taken on a dual core CPU, your maximum CPU "capacity" will be 100%, as a G5 in the iMac is a single core CPU.
    Maybe you can provide screenshots?
     
  8. durruti macrumors regular

    durruti

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Location:
    Jersey
    #8
    Disk Utility->Repair Permissions?
    Or Delete some files to free up space?
     

Share This Page