Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Jambalaya

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 21, 2013
UK
Max RAM available in MBA is 4GB, is this really sufficient and with the SSD's is RAM as big an issue ? My girl friend has a 2012 rMBP and 4GB doesn't seem enough in that. With the non-upgradability getting it right first time is essential.

Was in Apple store checking out a few things and I noticed the new rMBP's are much lighter and sleeker so that advantage to MBA is reduced. My daughter is due an upgrade (my old 2006 white MB is literally falling apart!). Usage is web, email, streaming movies/tv plus normal student stuff so not hugely taxing.

Choice is 8gb/256SSD rMBP (or possibly 4gb/128 SSD rMBP) vs 4gb/256SSD MBA

She'll get a student discount so reducing the price differentials.

dean1012

macrumors regular
Jul 10, 2008
MacBook Air

I have a 2013 MBA with 4 GB of RAM and 256 GB SSD.

I'm a software engineer by hobby and system administrator by trade...

My MBA supports these tasks (mostly at the same time, not separately) without issues so I definitely recommend the MBA:

* Corona SDK / XCode (game development)
* Tiled (game development)
* iTerm2 (SSH)
* Pages/Numbers/Keynote
* iTunes
* TexturePacker / PhysicsEditor (game development)
* VirtualBox (virtual machines)

I can even play WoW in my off time on lower settings without issue.

In short, the MBA will do the job and then some. However, if you have the money and she's happy with the rMBP then by all means get it; it won't be any worse.

Another note... since the HDD is an SSD, even swapping isn't noticable.

Jambalaya

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 21, 2013
UK

push/pull

macrumors newbie
Oct 31, 2013
...streaming movies/tv plus normal student stuff so not hugely taxing.

2 questions:
:apple:If she is in any major that requires graphic software a good video card and screen resolution will be essential(rMBP).