Mac Book Fresh Install?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Deadly Apples, Sep 1, 2011.

1. Deadly Apples, Sep 1, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2011

Deadly Apples macrumors newbie

Hiya guys . Im new to macs but recently bought a Mac Book and turns out it was an old school or college laptop and has been set up to be used by a school and there fore you cant just log in without a school password...

Is there any way of getting in and can i just do a fresh install of the OS and it will all work?

Majorly peeved!

Cheers dudes!

Deadly Apples! Rawrrr!

I gotta bad feeling about this! D:

2. deadwulfe macrumors 6502a

deadwulfe

Install from the disc that should have came with the computer. Insert disc, reboot, and hold the C key while booting up.

3. Deadly Apples thread starter macrumors newbie

I borrowed a mates OSX CD and when I try running it , it just skipps and goes to the log in screen again...

I looked on some other forums and they think its locked? or firmware something or other? What can I do :(

All this time tho I am admiring the high quality screen. Really high resolution or somthing :O

4. accessoriesguy macrumors 6502a

5. Deadly Apples thread starter macrumors newbie

yes. Ive held the C key and it just thinked then moves on. I also tried the holding the option key to chose to run the CD and it just does the same.. :(

----------

Oh btw. The CD i am using is for an old macbook pro oSX tiger or something. Its 2 CD's..

Does having a different osx to the one on my Macbook Pro mean anything? :)

6. aidan257 macrumors newbie

aidan257

Don't take this as gospel as i could be totally wrong as i am also new to Macs, but i am sure Tiger was PPC only so unless the macbook pro your using has a PPC cpu i think you wouldn't be able to use that to do a clean install.

7. Mal macrumors 603

Mal