Mac Book Internet

samkelley54

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 17, 2006
15
0
Hello i am gettin a mac book soon and i was wondering is there away to get the internet on to my mac book if i have got broadband? i dont know wether to get the 'Apple USB Modem' but i dont have dial up so i dont think it will work can someone please explain to me how i can get on to the internet with my broadband box?
Sam
 

Gee

macrumors 65816
Feb 27, 2004
1,023
0
London, UK
samkelley54 said:
Hello i am gettin a mac book soon and i was wondering is there away to get the internet on to my mac book if i have got broadband? i dont know wether to get the 'Apple USB Modem' but i dont have dial up so i dont think it will work can someone please explain to me how i can get on to the internet with my broadband box?
Sam
What type of connections does your broadband box have? Is it USB? Or ethernet (like a big think phone cable)?
 

yippy

macrumors 68020
Mar 14, 2004
2,087
3
Chicago, IL
The Apple USB modem is for dial up only, you don't want it.

I would say there is a 90% chance that your broadband box has an ethernet port on it (looks like a large phone jack). In that case just buy an ethernet cable, also known as cat-5 cable and connect it to the box and computer.
 

samkelley54

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 17, 2006
15
0
its got both cables it connects to the PC by a USB cable but its also has a ethernet socket which remains empty
 

Gee

macrumors 65816
Feb 27, 2004
1,023
0
London, UK

samkelley54

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 17, 2006
15
0
Gee said:
As you already have a broadband modem, you could get an Airport Express instead. It will let you do wireless (plug your modem into the airport express) and you can send music wirelessly to your stereo, which is very cool.
so i plug it in to my NTL broadband moden and i can get on the internet anywere in the house with a Airport Express ??
 

samkelley54

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 17, 2006
15
0
Would you be able to explain to me how it works would i be able to use it in my garden the internet that is?? what else would i need to buy ???
 

tipdrill407

macrumors 6502
May 26, 2006
373
0
samkelley54 said:
Would you be able to explain to me how it works would i be able to use it in my garden the internet that is?? what else would i need to buy ???
You hook up your broadband modem to your wireless router with an ethernet cable, in this case the airport express. Run the airport setup utility on your macbook and it will guide you through the security features and everything to make it work and then you'll be able to surf the web wirelessly. Whether or not you can use the internet in the garden really just depends on the construction of your house.
 

balamw

Moderator
Staff member
Aug 16, 2005
19,368
974
New England
samkelley54 said:
Would you be able to explain to me how it works would i be able to use it in my garden the internet that is?? what else would i need to buy ???
Nothing if you had the D-Link router you linked to earlier in the thread or the Aiport Express, ...

(Assuming your garden is of reasonable size and you don't live in a lead lined house. ;))

B
 

samkelley54

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 17, 2006
15
0

balamw

Moderator
Staff member
Aug 16, 2005
19,368
974
New England

balamw

Moderator
Staff member
Aug 16, 2005
19,368
974
New England
Range depends on how fast you want to connect. ;)

In general 30m unobstructed is what is cited. Presuming your broaband is ~3 MB or so you won't notice even if your data link is degraded to th max.

If you want more directed coverage outside, you can add an antenna that will "direct" your coverage to a specific area... To do this you'd need to use the D-link or something like it that would allow for external antennas.

B
 

Gee

macrumors 65816
Feb 27, 2004
1,023
0
London, UK
samkelley54 said:
do you know how far these connections go in metres???
How big's your house?

You will also need to buy an ethernet cable - don't think there's one in the airport express pack. And, if you want to connect the express to your stereo as well, you'll need another cable - one that has a headphone socket at both ends. Oh, and, if you want to connect your printer to it for wireless printing, you'll need....well....a cable. USB to USB.
 

balamw

Moderator
Staff member
Aug 16, 2005
19,368
974
New England
Gee said:
What do you mean about 20 minutes connection time?
Methinks I confused him with my comment on how fast the connection would be. I meant data rate, transfer speed, not conection time.

B
 

samkelley54

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 17, 2006
15
0
Gee said:
How big's your house?

You will also need to buy an ethernet cable - don't think there's one in the airport express pack. And, if you want to connect the express to your stereo as well, you'll need another cable - one that has a headphone socket at both ends. Oh, and, if you want to connect your printer to it for wireless printing, you'll need....well....a cable. USB to USB.
well the computer is upstairs but were building outside i will have a new bedroom, my bedroom at the moment backs off to the garden so the connection would have to go 20 - 30 meters away.
i think its best to use a D-Link modem
and im not botherd with transfer rate if you mean by sending pictures that doesnt bother me as long at its not too long
so what D-link modem on the internet would best suit my case??
thanks for the help :)