Mac book pro problem

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Nygiants12, Sep 12, 2012.

  1. Nygiants12, Sep 12, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 12, 2012

    Nygiants12 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    #1
    Hey my Mac book pro is getting the flashing ? Folder upon start up I've tried basically everything I've found on threads in order to get it to come back, other then using the disc utility since every time I try to use it, it seems to freeze? Any suggestions?
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    OS X Mountain Lion: If a flashing question mark appears
     
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #3
    Just to make sure, you have tried all of these steps?


    And do you have a "Mac Pro" (thread title and sub forum this thread lives in - big desktop tower, weighing 20 kilogram or so) or a "MacBook Pro" (your post - small notebook, weighing two to three kilogram)?

    And is it a new Mac or an older one (2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007 or 2006 model)?
     
  4. Nygiants12 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    #4
    Sorry it's a MacBook pro just eager to fix the problem so I wasn't thinking when I made the post... I've tried resetting the nvram.. Holding option on start up.. Holding c... Tried booting with the disc.. And its snow leopard
     
  5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
  6. Nygiants12 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    #6
    I've tried everything it says to do on there... Except the utility disc repair since it keeps freezing on me..
     
  7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    So you reselected your startup disk in System Preferences?
     
  8. Nygiants12 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    #8
    It won't allow me to try that either.. When I click on the apple everything is lightly shaded and unclickable..
     
  9. BigMoo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    #9
    I would say take it to an apple store if you have one near you. I had a similar problem with mine about a year ago and it turns out the logic board was bad.
     
  10. Nygiants12 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    #10
    Just outta curiosity replacing the logic board expensive?
     

Share This Page