Mac Book Pro to CO-AX TV

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by TCHOFESSIO, Nov 1, 2011.

  1. TCHOFESSIO macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    #1
    hello all,

    i have the new MBP with thunderbolt, and wish to connect it to the tv in my bar.
    The problem is that i can only connect to the COAX (traditional arial input) but i have no idea how tho get this working!

    i have a thunderbolt to VGA adapter. A VGA to S-Video/composite, and finally a RF modulator to get to CO-AX but no joy!

    Any ideas?

    matt:confused:
     
  2. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #2
    If You Have HDMI

    On your Tv, then the adaptor should work. What's the make and model of your TV?
     
  3. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #3
    Buy a new TV that doesn't use a 20 year old interconnect?

    Running it through a bunch of converters doesn't sound that sensible to me.
     
  4. TCHOFESSIO thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    #4
    i have two samsung tv's one LED one LCD.

    both are connected via CO-AX cable to my SKY decoder, a Freebox, and i want to connect my computer to put the visualiser from itunes through the screens in the evenings
     
  5. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #5
    The Samsungs should have the more common PC connections such as VGA/DVI/HDMI.

    Converting Displayport -> VGA -> Composite -> RF is a bit crackers.
     
  6. TCHOFESSIO thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    #6
    i know it's crackers! but the cables are already laid in the walls so i can't run new ones :(
     
  7. takeshi74 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #7
    What resolution are you attempting to run at? Keep in mind that SD is really, really low res.

    I'd still advice updating the TV. Even if you get it working it won't be pleasant.
     
  8. TCHOFESSIO thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    #8
    i've tried all the resolutions that my MBP lets me try, but still no picture...i tried with a PC laptop and i can get it to work grrrrrrrr!
     

Share This Page