Mac can't keep the pace in DVD's or Production

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by kevin1961, Dec 12, 2007.

  1. kevin1961 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    Spain
    #1
    Hi. I am a Photographer by trade and have had a Mac Book Pro with 23” screen for some months now. I am using keynotes for photographic presentations of Businesses and wedding photography but when in keynotes everything is clean and sharp after any toches made in adobe photo shop etc. When the 75 pages in key notes are sent to iDVD the image quality is horrific also in quick time the same about 50% image loss. I am burning CD’s with Toast titanium 8. I have in keynotes tried all the sizes of the presentations, I have tried different image file formats, I have tried H.264 and all the other formats and compressions etc but the end result is always the same which I can’t give to my clients. I have finished a job for a company in Keynotes and the Hiperlinks to different pages within keynotes are not respected!. I have seen to technicians for macintosh and they tell me that I need to buy “Motion” which is now in the Final cut pro package and will cost an arm and a leg without really knowing if this is going to sort out my problems and all the apple help centre does after a 30 minute wait is pass you from one person to another. Is Mac really just for using with adobe in design etc!. I am writing this in the hope that someone can answer from the States because over here it’s just a nightmare and I don’t really want to go back to PC but I can’t have clients work held up either, can some please give me some input or experiences they have had. I Can't beleave Mac build computers that are not even compatible with there own programs!!, Many Thanks and a Happy Xmas to all as it’s around the corner!!.
     
  2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    I'm a bit confused about your actual problem :confused:

    With regard to presentations losing quality when sent to iDVD I'd have thought this normal, DVD's aren't very high resolution - 720×480 (NTSC) or 720×576 (PAL).
     
  3. AdeFowler macrumors 68020

    AdeFowler

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #3
    This may help. Have you watched your DVD on a television?
     
  4. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #4
    Yep as stated above your presentations are probably designed to work on the higher resolutions available on computer monitors. You need to make them for the resolution of PAL or NTSC depending on which country you are in to see the full quality.
     
  5. kevin1961 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    Spain
    #5
    Reply from Kevin1961

    Hi, EdisignUK. I have 75 pages in keynot set out with 3 photographs in each page. This is a proyect the townhall has asked me to do for them. there are 75 company's I have had to photograph, 1 photo of the outside and 2 photos of the inside of each company along with a scan of each business card and a bit about the activity of each company. So I have all the images neatly in place with some nice shadowing and back ground music done in Garagband. Once I pass all of this presentation to iDVD and select a portal scene like corousal and then add the Movie name and any subtitles etc and then play it back before burning to DVD it comes out more or less ok ish!!. Once I burn to DVD with toast 8 and then put the DVD into the home DVD or on a windows computer the quality drops by about 50% and no way can I present this quality to the townhall. I have tried direct to quicktime using the largest frame settings in keynotes a bit better but the images are not as they have come out of the Canon 5D. You say that a DVD will not hold this data, what should I use?. I have 2 friends in Madrid who present work to the townhall using a proyecter directly plugged into the Mac, so for them it is easier but I have to do 1 disc so the townhall can make 75 copies and each company has his or her copy. So as you can see I'm up the creak without a paddle as they say and of course you always get one standing behind you saying "No problem doing this on my windows compter" which adds a little salt to the wounds. What you have told me is correct as another guy from another forum has told me exactly the same, so how can one get round this? Thanks for your reply and help it is apreciated.
     
  6. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #6
    As I've already said, I would expect you to lose quality when burning to a DVD as DVD's are not actually very good quality in the grand scheme of things, especially when you compare to original footage/photos on a computer monitor.

    Your friends with laptops and projectors will be able to show better quality presentations as I imagine they're running Keynote/PowerPoint rather than a video DVD in to the projector. The chances are the projectors project at 1024x768 unless it's something special (in which case it might be even higher). Even at 1024x768 that's still substantially higher than DVD video at 720×480 (NTSC) or 720×576 (PAL).

    Do you understand what I'm saying?
     
  7. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #7
    There is no way around the quality loss using a DVD format. It just wont happen - the resolution is too limited. The Canon 5D is what, 8MP? Roughly 4000x3000 pixels. You are looking at squeezing 3 of those photos into 720x480 pixels. It just wont happen.

    My question is this, if I read right, you are doing the DVD in iDVD but then burning with Toast, why? Why not burn with iDVD?

    You need to see that what you see on TV and what you see on the computer are going to be way different, no matter what.
     
  8. kevin1961 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    Spain
    #8
    Reply to Southernboy & Cromulent

    Hi, Thanks to the both of you for getting back to me. 1. yes I have tried them on the Home DVD and the images are very blurred. I have kenotes open in a nother windows as I am typing. File>send to>iDVD then in the drop down menu>Panoramic (16.9)>recorded times to keep the image transitions in place>Check box "Include soundtrack" and then send. This way the images still come out blurred. In Quicktime format. File>export>select top of the list quicktime>in reproduction usage i have marked "Recorded Timing as in keynotes">Activate full screen when opening>Formats>Drop down to personal>size 1024 x 768 and have tried as well 1280 x 720> Compresion Complete "Little Indian"> 44,100 KHZ> 16 Bits> "Not sure how to put into 8 Bits" as in adobe> and then save with a file name and that's it. But each way I do it they come out blurred but not so much in Quicktime, this however is a bit of a pain when you want clients to see high quality images shot with a Canon D5 of weddings etc as the client would probably kick my behind all the way down the street, I would probably do the same. There must be something wrong some where as I have seen other photographers presentations on DVD if done on mac or PC I am not sure and they look fantastic but obviously they are not going to tell me are they!!. Thanks to you all again from a very cold Spain. PS. Please excuse my English grammer I have not used it much in 25 years.
     
  9. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #9
    One last final attempt at getting this point across:

    You CANNOT and WILL NOT show quality of photos taken by any digital camera under any circumstance by burning them to a video DVD. DVD simply doesn't have the resolution, they're designed to playback on TV, and TV has a crappy resolution. End of story.
     
  10. kevin1961 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    Spain
    #10
    Robert & edesignuk

    Hi, edisignuk. OK Yes I understand DVD quality is very low no matter what, Robert, The canon pushes out about 12000 MP so as you say If I have 3 images in each keynote frame the data is to high fro the DVD to handle. I have tried burning direct ti iDVD and it is just blown out of all proportion and distorted. Obviously is seems as though I am expecting to much, indeed 3 images of this size look great when you are looking at them in playback mode in keynotes but then everything falls apart shifting all this data to iDVD or quicktime and as I now know DVD will never take this due to the low resolution rate, so I'm ++++ arn't I. All i can do is take each image reduce the size in photo shop down to a very small size and then try say 4 or 5 test frames in Keynote and send it to iDVD just to see what gives. I have been told that "Motion" or buying Final cut pro has more compresion tools for this by apple in Madrid on the phone. Sorry to be a pain in the rear but How do these other guys get such fantastic results, the images of weddings they have shot seem to jump out at you on the TV, it is so frustarating when you don't know these things and nobody in the apple shops here seem to know or am I being incredibly thich and am missing something that is in front of my face!!.
     
  11. kevin1961 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    Spain
    #11
    Edisignuk

    Hi OK got the message NO DVD AND IT WILL NOT WORK NOW OR NEVER. So how is it done. I have had a Mac for 6 months now and have ever really used in desighn and For editing photos fro Raw using Bridge into adobe photoshop a Specialist then prints them and mounts them for me in Madrid so you see I am a bit of a novice in the DVD area, But there must be another software these wedding photographers use so there clients can see the wedding photos on the Home TV. I am also getting companys asking me to make them up virtual DVD or CD's of all the products they sell to save on brochure costs which are terribly high here.......but that is something I am not going to take on board untill I have this lot sorted, Thanks for your time and patience again.
     
  12. kevin1961 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    Spain
    #12
    Just looked at the Link

    Hi, Have just read the link you put in, Yup!! seems as though it's quicktime or nothing at all. All the best.
     

Share This Page