Mac Cinema Display

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Passheon, Nov 3, 2009.

  1. Passheon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    #1
    Hi Guys and Gals, my boss just got a Mac 37in cinema display and insists on me trying to find a way to connect it to a vga , Apple has no converters and told me to check this site for some different way of getting it to work on an IBM computer.
    Any Suggestions?
     
  2. vincebio macrumors 6502a

    vincebio

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #2
    no he didnt...

    1. there is no such thing as a mac monitor
    2. there is no 37"screen from 'Apple'
    :rolleyes:
     
  3. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Assuming he really bought an Apple 30" Cinema Display, a product that actually exists, then he is out of luck. As very clearly stated in the specs the only way to drive it is via a dual-link DVI connection.
     
  4. Passheon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    #4
    Mac Display

    Sorry guys,, its a 24inch Mac Display
    supposedly on for MAC Air books..
    Geffen makes a converter but it has only one connection this dang monitor has three dfferent connections
    there has to be a way to get it to work on an IBM , he wants 2 monitors working off that computer and this is one of them.
     
  5. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #5
    The 24" Apple (not Mac: Apple are the company, Mac is product and screens are not Macs) Cinema Display requires a Mini Display Port connection. Again this must be digital. Exactly what output connectors do you have on this "IBM". If it's only VGA (no DVI, no DisplayPort, no HDMI) the only solutions are going to be very expensive. Even if he has DVI or HDMI the solution is going to be at least $150.
     
  6. Passheon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    #6
    APPLE Cinema DISPLAY

    Ok its not my money and he has plenty ,,what would be the 150$ solution?
    its for a clinic and he does not care about the cost.
     
  7. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #7
    If (and only if) he has DVI then an Altona AT-DP200 will give a Mini Display Port output.
     

Share This Page