Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

AlBDamned

macrumors 68030
Original poster
Mar 14, 2005
Hi All,

I'm just looking at getting a webcam for use with my Powerbook and any advice would be much appreciated. Most of the ones I've seen don't mention Mac compatibility but would they 'just work...'?

What are the rest of you guys using?

Cheers

AL

rummer

macrumors newbie
Feb 28, 2005
It depends on which software you will be using. If you are going to use iChatAV for video chat, I think the best bet is iSight. But again, it is a little expensive. I have heard that there are hacks to allow other USB webcams to be used on iChatAV, but have not seen one to confirm it.

The Logitech Webcam for Notebook Pro (not the Deluxe) is compatible with the Mac, but it will probably not work with iChat.

AlBDamned

macrumors 68030
Original poster
Mar 14, 2005
Not entirely sure what software I'll use. I'm a complete novice with video messaging. Using a mix of MSN and skype for text and voice messaging at the mo, but obviously neither of those have mac compatible video messaging. Is ichat the best way to go? Again, any advice would be great. Software, hardware....

The iSight is the obvious option but (and I had a similar thing with a regular router vs an Airport base station) I don't really want to spend £100 on it when I would hope a lesser webcam could work for a fraction of the price. I won't be using it for work so it doesn't need to be pixel perfect.

JeffTL

macrumors 6502a
Dec 18, 2003
Have you ever thought about a DV camcorder? I understand they work just like an iSight when you hook them up to your Mac by FireWire.

On the other hand, if you have no use for a camcorder, an iSight is much cheaper.

AlBDamned

macrumors 68030
Original poster
Mar 14, 2005
JeffTL said:
Have you ever thought about a DV camcorder? I understand they work just like an iSight when you hook them up to your Mac by FireWire.