Mac Cube unexpectedly shuts down

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by claesjanwolff, Feb 18, 2017.

Tags:
  1. claesjanwolff, Feb 18, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2017

    claesjanwolff macrumors newbie

    claesjanwolff

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    #1
    Have seen a thread or 2 b4, but I am new to this forum

    My G4 cube 450 MHz, 1 Gb ram, macOS 10.4 shuts down randomly at irregular intervals, no demanding apps running or other special ops

    Have read that dust could be a problable cause for overheating and shutdown
    Having opened the cube, no visible dust was detected, but then I found this wire (see pict)
    Should that be connected to something?

    Hope you forum guys can assist in solving this

    Btw where can I upload pics?
     
  2. RhianB, Feb 18, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2017

    RhianB macrumors 6502

    RhianB

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM USA
    #2
    When posting a response here, in the lower right hand corner of the text field, there are three blue buttons. Click the middle "upload file" button to attach a photo.

    Good luck.
     
  3. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #3
    There is a known problem with these having an "overactive" power button, which as you probably know is capacitive. I seem to recall the fix being an application of a piece of scotch tape directly over the top of the button(on the "core", not on top of the case). You might give that a try.
     
  4. claesjanwolff thread starter macrumors newbie

    claesjanwolff

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    #4
    Thanks for the swift reply, Do you mean (grey) duct tape or transparent packaging tape?
     
  5. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #5
    He means Scotch tape - or any generic equivalent.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #6
    If you're in a Commonwealth country, I think you call it Sellotape.
     
  7. claesjanwolff thread starter macrumors newbie

    claesjanwolff

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    #7
    Thx Got it ;)
    Untill now it seems to work!!
     

Share This Page