Mac does not boot ErrNo 5

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ILONA Z, Dec 15, 2014.

1. ILONA Z macrumors newbie

Hi, Can anybody please could help me with this issue? I have done back up on time machine day before. Does all my files are safe than? Sorry, I have very little knowledge about computers. Thank you:)

Attached Files:

2. rigormortis macrumors 68000

rigormortis

i think your hard disk is fried

i did not even look up what those errors meant, but from the look of the screen , i think it means your hard drive is completely shot and it needs to be replaced

you did a real good job of keeping it backed up to time machine

replace the hard disk, and reinstall mac os x.

how to make a bootable usb key .
    have someone at the apple store or another person with a mac help you
    http://www.macworld.com/article/236...otable-os-x-10-10-yosemite-install-drive.html

check warranty status
    maybe its under warranty or you have applecare.
    https://selfsolve.apple.com/agreementWarrantyDynamic.do

once mac os x is reinstalled, you can restore it from time machine
    http://support.apple.com/kb/PH14111

if the hard disk was purchased from another source except apple, like if you installed this disk yourself, please write back. it might be covered under a separate warranty from the original drive manufacturer

---
    once you find a bootable usb key and use that to boot your computer (either by holding down the option key or holding down the c key ) it might be possible that disk utility will fix that,, but i wouldn't even bother. it looks totally shot to me , i don't think disk utility would fix it and you should throw out the had disk.

----------

after reading the screen your hard disk is shot and it is reporting bad sectors.
    replace hard drive

there is no other real diagnosis or utilities you should run. its dead and put a fork in it, and buy a new hard drive.

however