Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jer77od

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 17, 2011
long time reader 1st time poster. First off, i dont know if im posting in the right spot im brand new to this. I even searched quite a bit of forums and nothing seem to match my problem. I just figured i would try here before calling apple.

i connect my 2nd monitor and the macbook see's the monitor and all but its still stays in sleep mode the entire time. ive tried on 2 different macbooks, 4 different monitors, 2 different VGA cables, ive tried alternating between 60HZ and 75HZ, ive restarted, even put the laptop to sleep a few time. NOTHING is working.

ive also even cycled through the very long list of frequencies for all 4 monitors and the only response im getting as it 800x600 @ 60hz and thats only when my main screen enters screensaver. but even then the 2nd monitor flickers a mirrored image and im not on image mode. When i put the laptop into sleep mode when it returns i see the 2nd monitor "ghost image" for a second before it goes to the 2nd monitor. so i know its trying to work

ive been working on this for about 3 hours now its starting to get frustrating.

i know all of the monitors work i play xbox on all of them. the VGA cables work as well and the DVI-VGA adapter is brand new.

the macbooks are 2 and 3 years old.

Macsavvytech

macrumors 6502a
May 25, 2010
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

Are you trying to connect two external monitors?
If so you may be out of luck I believe with thecurrent models you can get display port and USB to support two monitors but the dvi port/VGA on your MacBook pro simply doesnt have enough bandwidth.

snaky69

macrumors 603
Mar 14, 2008