.mac Email vs. GMail question/opinions

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by chriswheat, Aug 13, 2007.

1. chriswheat macrumors regular

Here's the deal, I've been using gmail for about 3 years, but with my new iPhone, I'm really annoyed with gmail's inability to do IMAP. I have a .mac account and am seriously considering switching my main personal email from gmail to .mac. I just hesitate to do it because I'd hate for gmail to enable IMAP in a month or two after I'd gone through the whole switch ordeal. I'd almost be tempted to switch back if that were the case, but I hate sending out "Change of Email" emails.

Has anyone made this switch? Any regrets?

2. 66217 Guest

Can't you make your .mac account retrieve mail from another accounts?

3. buckact macrumors newbie

Here's what I did and it may work for you. I setup email forwarding on my gmail account so all of my gmail would automatically flow into my .mac account where I could keep it all organized (Because I hate labeling my email).

I think the biggest pro of this is that you can keep both email accounts, and slowly have people start sending to you .mac account. On your computer you will even be able to respond as your gmail account if you setup your gmail with fake incoming server info and real outgoing info (I'm not sure if you can do this on the iPhone though, I don't have one yet :(.

The downside however is that I still have login every few days to check my gmail spam to make sure there isn't anything important. Also, your old gmail messages won't be in your .mac account, so for a while you might still need to sign in to gmail or forward them to your .mac manually to access them.

Hope this helps.

4. MBHockey macrumors 68040

MBHockey

I am doing this same exact thing right now, for the same reason. The only problem so far is that .Mac mail has been intermittent today.