Mac Emergency!! Help!! Newbie

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by AppleMactablet, Mar 10, 2010.

  1. AppleMactablet macrumors regular

    AppleMactablet

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #1
    I just installed a new HDD into my mac mini as soon as I opened the box, after the HDD install I put the mac oxs leopard disc into the drive and held down c, I answered the language question...etc, but then it came to a box and asked what disc I want snow leopard installed and the box is blank.:confused:

    I never had a apple computer before-This is all new-please Help
     
  2. cmaier macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Are you sure you properly installed the drive? Both the power and data cable?
     
  3. AppleMactablet thread starter macrumors regular

    AppleMactablet

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #3
    Yes-BTW it is a internal 2.5 wd 320gb sata drive

    did I have to backup what was on the orginal HDD?
     
  4. cmaier macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Did you boot from the snow leopard disk and use disk utility to partition/format the drive?
     
  5. AppleMactablet thread starter macrumors regular

    AppleMactablet

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #6
    I used the Leopard Install disc that came with the mac
     
  6. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #7
    It sure helps to get answers if you changed your topic to something like "Help! Noobert needs to install 10.6 but can't format drive!"
     
  7. cmaier macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Ok, but did you format the disk before the install?
     
  8. AppleMactablet thread starter macrumors regular

    AppleMactablet

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #9
    No-how do I do this?

    Please dont tell me I have to open the mac again:eek:
     
  9. Hmac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    #10
    Yes, you have to format the new drive, but no, no hardware changes are necessary. Once the Leopard disk is up and running, go up into the menu bar and select "utilities", then "Disk Utility". It will show your unformatted drive and give you the option to format it. Do so. Then you'll be able to install the OS. It's very straightforward once you know how.
     
  10. cmaier macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #11
    No. The link I provided should explain. You boot into the install disk (pressing C), and select "utilities" and go to disk utility.
     
  11. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #12
    Be SURE to click Options and choose "GUID Partition Table".
     
  12. AppleMactablet thread starter macrumors regular

    AppleMactablet

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
  13. AppleMactablet thread starter macrumors regular

    AppleMactablet

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #14
    It tells me to select a destination but nothing shows up
     
  14. cmaier macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #15
    You don't have a menubar at the top of the screen? You should be able to launch disk utility from the menus.
     
  15. AppleMactablet thread starter macrumors regular

    AppleMactablet

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #16
    I need Mac Install Help!! HDD Help

    I check if the mac would turn on-it did
    I took out that harddrive
    I installed the new harddrive
    And then I inserted the disc

    The Mac is brand new-I have never seen a menu-or anything like that
     
  16. cmaier macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #17
    When you boot from the install disk, you should get a menubar at the top of the screen. One of the menus should be "utilities."
     
  17. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #18
    From the link above:
     
  18. AppleMactablet thread starter macrumors regular

    AppleMactablet

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #19
    OMG You guys were right-there was a menu-for some reason I was wondering why my mouse kept going-my TV still only shows 1/4 of the menu-But I'll get it-


    THANKS-:)
     
  19. Bacong macrumors 68000

    Bacong

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    Westland, Michigan
    #20
    Actually, it's iPod touch. :D
     
  20. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #21
    And "Mac mini". Apple's website is just the only place you'll find that particular capitalization. To the rest of us, it's "iPod Touch".
     

Share This Page