Mac for college, help needed.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by cian93, Feb 24, 2011.

1. cian93, Feb 24, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2011

cian93 macrumors newbie

Hi all, complete newbie here so please try to bear with me:eek:

I'm going to be going to college this year to do electronic engineering. I don't have a laptop and will no doubt need one and Macs look like better laptops to me, mainly due to the fact that they have longer lifespans, even if they are more expensive.

Anyway I was hoping to buy one when I head over to the US this summer on holiday to take advantage of the tasty exchange rate (I'll save over 25% if it doesn't change too much). I wanted to put these questions to Apple directly but couldn't find an email address anywhere so hopefully I can get some help here.

First off, as a foreign student (from Ireland btw), am I entitled to the student discount in store? I don't expect so to be honest but it would be a nice surprise if I was.

Second, do I have the option of customising in the shop? I can't really order online and I do want the high-res screen with the cheaper 15" option.

Is anti-glare any good? Or can I look at the difference myself in the shop?

Is it easy enough to switch over from Windows? I don't want to install Windows btw, I know I could but I don't want to fork out for it.

When I bring it back, if I have problems while it's under warranty, can I bring it back to the shop?

Does Mac work with Android phones?

Can I have multiple displays with the new Thunderbolt thing?

If I buy my own SSD (a small one, say 60GB) can I install the OS to it and replace it with the 500GB one? I know that there are optional SSD upgrades but they're very expensive and I can't view the transfer rates.

Thanks to anyone who takes the time to read through that exhaustive list of questions:)

2. cian93 thread starter macrumors newbie

3. Derango macrumors regular

Sorry, don't know on this one. You might be able to