Mac for iphone programming

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by BRANDON99, May 25, 2009.

  1. BRANDON99 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    #1
    Hi

    I would like to start programming for iphones ( I have many years programming in C, C++ etc.) So I will need to get a Mac
    I have read articals and it seems I will need an intel based Mac. Is there any way I could get away with a G4 or G5 untill I decide wether or not to invest in an intel Mac ?

    Thanks

    Stephen
     
  2. fenrus110 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #2
    There are ways to do it I've seen, but it is not officially supported.

    You're better off getting an Intel Mac with Leopard or Snow Leopard. Grab a Mac Mini if you need something quick.
     
  3. adrianblaine macrumors 65816

    adrianblaine

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #3
    I'm pretty sure an Intel Mac is required to develop for the iPhone.

    EDIT: taken from the iPhone Development Guide

     
  4. BRANDON99 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    #4
    Mac for iphone programming

    Hi


    Is the Mac Mini specification ok for this or would I be bertter off going for a MacPro although after 25 + years of pc's the cost of a Mac Pro does seem high !

    Thanks

    Stephen
     
  5. xsmasher macrumors regular

    xsmasher

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #5
    I use a mini and it's fine - I wish I had spring for the 2GB memory, though. It gets slow when I have xcode, simulator, iTunes, and a dozen Safari tabs open.
     
  6. Willis macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #6
    Yeah, any Intel Mac will work so if you can even look at the first generation Core Duo or Core 2 Duo's if you wish to spend a little less.

    On the flipside, you can get a Mac Mini which is a sound investment and not overly expensive.
     
  7. fenrus110 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #7
    you could stil try to pry it open and install your own memory, if you don't care about scratches and stuff
     
  8. xsmasher macrumors regular

    xsmasher

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #8
    Thanks; I'll break out the paint scraper when I'm not in the middle of a project. For now, I have to grin and bear it.
     

Share This Page