Mac for round the world trip...advice please

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by helca, Mar 8, 2011.

1. helca macrumors newbie

Hi all,

I am new to the Mac world and I would like to ask you for help.
    We are going for long trip with our 4x4 www.delicajourney.webnode.cz and I am the one responsible for communication, internet connection, photo and video storage and much more.
    I want to buy MacBook pro 13" and have few questions:

1. We will not be using Mac while driving, so do I need SSD or normal disc will be OK?
    2. I am going to buy case, but which one will protect him from shocks? I do not want to spend money for Pelican case, they are to expensive here in Europe. Is there any alternative? I will have normal case for travelling, but need another one to keep him safe in car.
    3. Is there any issue with high altitude/5000m/, high temperature/Australian summer/ and low temperature/Far East of Russia -20C/.

I am sure I will have more questions later. If they sound stupid I am sorry, I am just a girl:)

Thanks
    Helena

2. satcomer macrumors 603

satcomer

1. I would go with a SSD because in your traveling with the laptop it will get banged around. That is a given.

2. I would go with something that will really protect your laptop. Look around your local net for alternatives but don't go with some kind of protection for it.

3. Just check out the Mac Book Pro Specs to get the temperature range.

3. helca thread starter macrumors newbie

If we should buy Mac with SSD which one should we buy:

New Mac book pro 13" with 128Gb SSD for 1200GBP
    or

Refurbished MacBook Air 2.13 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo

Originally released October 2010
    13.3-inch LED-backlit glossy widescreen display

4GB memory
    256GB solid-state drive
    NVIDIA GeForce 320M graphics
    Built-in iSight Camera

for 1300GBP

We will have external HD to store photo and video.

Thanks

4. maril1111 macrumors 68000

maril1111