Mac for student

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by smileforme, Nov 20, 2009.

1. smileforme macrumors newbie

Hey guys,

I've looked through several advice-topics and it seems the opinions of others really helped a lot of users. I'm hoping for the same.

Right now I only own a netbook and a 22 inch external monitor. Having only the power of the netbook available can be quite a pain- thats why id like to buy a mac.

The computer will be used for the usual: internet surfing, emails, videos, etc. I recently really got into photography so I will also be using photo editing software.

Considering the price: I dont want the price to be the deciding factor (I do want the computer to last a bit) but since I am a college student with a full time job- the less the better.

Portability: I need a computer for studying which i will have to carry around quite a bit - my netbook has been performing just fine with that.

I was wondering which setup would be the best for me:

- I could buy an Imac and continue to use my netbook for uni. I would sell the external monitor. The problem with this is that I will be spending half a year in Asia relatively soon. It would be more troublesome to take an imac with me

- I could buy a macbook pro and use it with my external monitor. Im guessing I would go for the 13 inch model because of portability and price- but im open to suggestions otherwise)

Right now I'm leaning towards the 13 inch macbook pro option but I was wondering what you guys will think. Oh and gaming is not important for me- i would actually prefer it if my computer couldnt run games very well as it would prevent me from wasting time :p.

2. jmann macrumors 604

jmann

bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    Get a mac mini and use it with your existing monitor. Then you still have the netbook to haul around school.

3. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

thegoldenmackid