mac freezes on startup with wired lines running over screen

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by eggdust, Dec 7, 2009.

1. eggdust macrumors newbie

hi guys im new to all this so pls stick with me...

ive got had an imac g5 for about 4 years ago and never had any trouble untill 2 days ago.

my girl friend recently purchased a second hand iphone and plugged into the mac (while the mac was switch off), she turned the mac on. it booted untill the desktop appeared and froze with all thesedistortion lines running through the screen. (best way to descibe is line a vcr on pause)
    i have tried doing a resart with all preriferals removed (scanner, internet etc) and it still gets to the same point & freezes. apple advised me to use the start up disks, which i did- it booted up running fro the c.d (still with the lines across the screen). i did a restore the machine restarted after the install on its own accord, yet stil does the same thing-only now it wont give me back my start up disk!!! aghh

if there are any surgestions you guys can give it would be really apreciated. thanks in advance

2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

BlueRevolution

Sounds like an issue with the logic board, display cable, or LCD.

3. eggdust thread starter macrumors newbie

hi, many thanks for the responce.

dont think its the cable, as the mac loads the first grey screen is unaffected then when the apple logo appears it has uniform purple lines running across it (but not the background) then when the desktop tries to load it gets only part way into the load (before icons and dock appears) then freezes with lines running across the screen.

damaged logic board was something i was told by a friend, is this a big job/costly to get repaired, if it is the board have i lost the work that was on there?
    again pls excuse my ignorance.

4. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

BlueRevolution

Yes. It may cost more than the computer is worth.