Mac guy buying PC for school

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by jeffy.dee-lux, May 28, 2009.

1. jeffy.dee-lux macrumors 6502a

Hi there. i've just been given the go ahead by my advisor to purchase a desktop PC for my office at school. Unfortunately, I've been a mac guy since the beginning, so I don't know much at all about the PC market. I'm a Mechanical engineering grad student, so I'll be using this PC for 3d CAD, Matlab/Simulink, and LabVIEW. I've been asked to find an appropriate PC and give an approximate price range for what I need. I kind of wish I had been given a price range and told to find an appropriate PC within that range, but my guess is anything under $1500 including monitor should be okay.

Any suggestions for brands/processors or any input at all?

Thanks a lot!

2. kornyboy macrumors 68000

Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5H11 Safari/525.20)

I run, if one is close by, to best buy and see what they have and then give Dell a call to get a price. You may want to consider checking out a local shop that builds specialty computers and see what they have to offer.

3. scienide09 macrumors 65816

scienide09

I would check out your campus computer store. There's a good chance the staff there will be more knowledgeable than at BestBuy/Futureshop, and probably at least one person that has dealt with people switching between Mac and PCs.

Good luck!

4. jtgotsjets macrumors 6502

jtgotsjets

Tell them you want an iMac and throw windows on it?

5. jeffy.dee-lux thread starter macrumors 6502a

haha... that's what i was thinking! In fact the Sys admin guy for my department suggested a mac pro, he's also a mac guy.

The campus computer store sells an HP dc7800 for $849.00

Convertible Minitower
    Core 2 Duo E6750 2.66GHz Processor
    2GB PC2-6400 (DDR2-800) 2x1GB
    160GB SATA NCQ SMART IV