Mac infected by Botnet

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Bl0ckHe1d, Apr 5, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bl0ckHe1d macrumors 6502

    Bl0ckHe1d

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Location:
    Caledonia
  2. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
  3. BrianBaughn macrumors 603

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #3
    I think Apple's Java Security Update prevents the vulnerability but doesn't "fix" an machine that has been "afflicted".

    F-Secure is a good source of info on the problem.
     
  4. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #4
    TLDR:

    Run the following two commands in Terminal. If you get "The domain/default pair... does not exist" for both, you're clean.

    Code:
    defaults read ~/.MacOSX/environment DYLD_INSERT_LIBRARIES
    defaults read /Applications/Safari.app/Contents/Info LSEnvironment 
     
  5. snberk103 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    An Island in the Salish Sea
    #5
    Good advice. Just to clarify, run the 1st line.... then run the 2nd line. In both cases you should get a ".... does not exist..." message.
     
  6. 28Gauge macrumors 6502

    28Gauge

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    #6
    Thanks for your post! It looks like I'm clean.
     
  7. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #7
    The only unclean Mac's are owned by the security experts presumably.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page