The box is unchecked in the Finder preferences. I drag (or Command-Delete) an item to the trash and a window pops up saying, 'Are you sure you want to delete "x"? This item will be deleted immediately. You can't undo this action. I've trawled the interweb but to no alas, and being a Mac user for over 10 years have never seen this before. Any help will be greatly appreciated!