.Mac, iWeb, and Domain Names

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by zflauaus, Nov 23, 2007.

  1. zflauaus macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    #1
    I'm looking to switch over from Dreamhost to .Mac because it's simpler, costs less, and iWeb is much better to use than online editors IMO. I've been looking over Google searches trying to find an answer, but I haven't come up with one.

    I'm going to transfer my current domain name over to GoDaddy and have that name as my .Mac site. Now, my problem is, I don't want it to do a simple redirect or masking. I want the domain to show tree structure, so if "picture1.jpg" is in the folder "pics", I want it to show, www.domain.com/pics/picture1.jpg and not http://web.mac.com/username/SiteName/pics/picture1.jpg. Does .Mac support this?
     
  2. CANEHDN macrumors 6502a

    CANEHDN

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    Eagle Mountain, UT
    #2
    I know that .Mac now has the capability to have URLs show up as your iWeb site. I'm not sure what your directory structure ends up being. I bet it will show up as the ladder of the two.
     
  3. MacSociology macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    Battleground Europe?!
    #3
    .Mac will do what you're asking for. If you use godaddy.com my answer in this thread is about where you type in web.mac.com at godaddy for the domain. But you will have to register you domain at www.mac.com to be able to point it toward your .mac-account.
     
  4. mlcolorado macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #4
    What you have to do is really this:

    1. Set up your .Mac site in iWeb first and get a working home page.

    2. In one of the iWeb contextual menus is a thing under the File menu I think called set up Personal domain or something, its in one of the menus,

    3. Go to your domain hoster (godaddy.com in your case) and give your domain a CNAME entry for yourdomain.com and www.yourdomain.com pointing to web.mac.com and your be up and running!
     
  5. zflauaus thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    #5
    Alright, thanks for the into guys. Right now I can't use my domain on .Mac because it's being transferred from DreamHost to GoDaddy.

    5-7 days to transfer?!? This is going to suck really badly.
     
  6. zflauaus thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    #6
    Ok, so the domain has been transferred, yet it's not acting like it. It has some of the last settings from DreamHost (has the bad_httpd_conf error page). I change my "www" CNAME to "web.mac.com" and added some MX entries so I can use Google Apps as my mail for the domain.

    Will it just be a waiting game until this all takes effect? Also, should I have the nameservers set to the default parked, default hosted, or custom? If custom, what then?

    EDIT: Everything's working again. Thanks guys. :)
     
  7. sir42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    NY, NY
    #7
    I have made a few sites in iWeb, some of them personal, however one of them is for a new business. I just purchased a domain for the business site. Is it possible to have my new domain point just to the business site I created in iWeb and not all of the others as well?
     
  8. rhyndu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    A Planet Orbiting Sol!
    #8
    With frames or URL redirects (or a new .Mac account)... yes.

    Otherwise... no
     
  9. actore116 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #9
    I have a different Personal domain question....
    I am on a trial of .mac and have set up a website in iweb and when i try to set up a personal domain there is no "personal domain settings" option in .mac. Is this because I am on a trial? In order for me to use a personal domain in iweb do I have to buy a .mac account?
    Sorry if that was confusing.
    Thanks!
     
  10. rhyndu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    A Planet Orbiting Sol!
    #10
    You prob. don't wanna be messing with your domain's settings with a trial. :cool:

    It works fine though for non-trial users.
     

Share This Page