Mac lagging at simple tasks. What should I do?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by brunozs, May 6, 2015.

  1. brunozs macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    #1
    Hi,

    From night to day my Mac started randomly lagging at simple tasks. I have an iMac 2013 built-to-order with full specs so that shouldn't happen.

    Tried to reinstall OS X, still the same. So I created a new user, and it works great under that login, so it has to be tied up to my user account.

    The question is: how do I fix it? Nothing unusual on the Activity Monitor.

    Thanks
     
  2. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #2
    Download the free application EtreCheck. It will print out a report to show you the incomplete or bad services, even Trojans. You just have to manually delete this files, just reboot after doing all the deleteing.
     
  3. eattherich macrumors 6502

    eattherich

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Berlin
    #3
    What's lagging? If it's your cursor, have a look at this thread; it seems to be a common thing with Yosemite.
     
  4. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #4
    First, do you have an SSD? I assume you do.

    Since the other account is working fine, something in your original account must be holding it up. Check Startup Items for that account.
     
  5. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #5
    Disable your logn items, one of them is likely not fully compatible.
     
  6. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #6
    OP wrote above:
    [[ So I created a new user, and it works great under that login, so it has to be tied up to my user account. ]]

    In this case, it's not the "OS in general" that is having problems, but rather, something specific to your user account.

    Both yjchua95 and simonsi are pointing in the right direction.

    IF you disable login items in your regular account and you're STILL having problems, you might consider this:
    1. Create a new user account that will (in time) become your -permanent- account.
    2. SLOWLY begin copying things from your "old regular" account into the new account.
    2a. As you move things, progressively log out of the old account, log into the new account, and compare speed differences. You want to be sure that the additions you make into the new account don't "import the problem" that slowed you down in the old account.
    3. Eventually, you'll get everything (or just about everything) moved over.
    4. Now you can log out of the old account for good, log into the new one, and (if you wish) delete the old account from your drive.

    IMPORTANT:
    You will want to keep WRITTEN NOTES as you proceed, so you don't get lost.
    Also important to know:
    You CANNOT copy the "first subfolders" from one account to another.
    By "first subfolders" I mean those titled "Library", "Mail", "Movies", "Music", "Pictures", etc.
    But, you CAN copy items -inside- those folders from one account to another.

    I've actually done this before, and it worked.

    But try the "quick solution" method first (remove login items), and see if that's all that is needed to fix things...
     
  7. brunozs thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    #7
    Thanks for all the replies.

    I've been testing the alternatives you all suggested (no malware was found):

    1- Browsing the web is usually normal now but I still get temporary freezes which also happens in iTunes
    2- It's nearly impossible to work with Pages or Numbers (rainbow ball, not responding, etc)
    3- It's happening on any login account
    4- Yes, I have an SSD, and tried to delete and reinstall both OS X and iWork apps

    I think I'll have to take it to Apple cause this behavior is definitely not normal :(
     
  8. Bobby dazzler macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    #8
    Hi brunozs

    Join the club!

    I have a similar age mac and similar problems - only since Yosemite.

    Yosemite is annoying all who use this and my two other macs. The user experience is retro to say the least.

    I'm hoping the next incarnation of OS X will sort it out, but in my mind I've already started considering other products and software and moving away from Apple - which was totally inconceivable until Yosemite was downloaded.

    Regards
     
  9. brunozs thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    #9
    That can't be, I'm using Yosemite for a while now, and those problems started out of nothing.

    Seems like I'll have to take it to the store and make a good use of that warranty.
     
  10. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #10


    They will likely do a fresh install, you could try that yourself first.
     
  11. brunozs thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    #11
    I don't care what they do as long as it works.

    Look at the kernel_task is that normal?
    Screen Shot 2015-06-07 at 11.35.39 PM.png
     
  12. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
  13. speedyyellow macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Location:
    Cambs/London
    #13
    Probably because of the "Compressed Mem" figure...
     
  14. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #14
    I see that but I cant see that causing a performance issue, that looks like a glitch in the AM display. 800MB for kernal mem usage looks within normal bounds to me.
     
  15. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #15
    Yes.

    Edit: The Compressed Memory display there looks to be a bug.
     
  16. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #16
    Thats how I read it, but the consumption of kernel_task and Safari is very comparable with the system I am writing this on, right now, with no perf issues.
     
  17. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #17
    I've experienced this in earlier Mac OS versions. Those times it took a new install and no restoring anything with Time Machine to get the zip back. Same solution that used to be standard in Windows.
     

Share This Page