Mac Leopard OS question

Discussion in 'macOS' started by chihiro, Sep 16, 2007.

  1. chihiro macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #1
    hi
    i m buying Mac book pro ,but when Leopard OS is lunched i m thinking to get it.
    my question.when u buy from Apple the Leopard OS ,do they install it for you?do you have to pay any additional fees for that,please?
     
  2. Exodemia macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #2
    No, you have to install yourself I think. I would wait till Leopard is pre-installed on machines.
     
  3. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #3
    Or just ask your 5 year old son to do it for you. Seriously, it's that easy.
     
  4. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #4
    And when you install it yourself, you get to see that space-tastic welcome video!

    No link, sorry.
     
  5. Exodemia macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #5
    Yeah like the guys say it's simple to install it yourself. And I think a monkey could do it too :p
     
  6. darkcurse macrumors 6502a

    darkcurse

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    #6
    Yeah unlike installing windows and its countless restarts, the upgrade/reinstall process of Mac OSX is very straight forward and easy. I showed it to my computer illiterate friend that day and she was like, "so this is what is was paying 40 bucks to let the technicians do? I'm such an idiot"... LOL
     
  7. Veritas&Equitas macrumors 68000

    Veritas&Equitas

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    #7
    Not to hijack at all, but when installing Leopard, can we keep all of our settings and everything? It's not like an entirely new install (like Windows XP), but it can be installed over the place of Tiger?
     
  8. darkcurse macrumors 6502a

    darkcurse

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    #8
    You can do an Archive and Install which does precisely that. Or just upgrade which does the same thing as well I guess.
     
  9. bmcgrath macrumors 65816

    bmcgrath

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    #9
    Although I'v never installed Mac OS as I only got my first Mac this time last year. From what I read, seen, and heard installing it is a doddle. Real easy. I think I can safely say it will be nothing like winblows at all. :D
     
  10. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #10
    [guide]Archive and Install[/guide]

    Eh, didn't realize it was empty. It'll be filled by Leopard.
     
  11. nigrunze macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    #11
    Do "Upgrade", Not "Archive and Install".
    Upgrade seamlessly upgrades your OS to a newer version, while "Archive and Install" puts all your files into a folder on the hard drive. Archive and Install would probably be mainly for if Mac OS X crashes a lot and Disk Utility can't fix it with either "repair disk permissions" or "repair disk".
     
  12. skye12 macrumors 65816

    skye12

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    #12
    Installing and/or updating the Mac OS is incredibly simple. I would
    make sure to reset PRAM and repair permissions before just to make
    sure everything is "right".

    It just makes sense to wait a couple weeks and get Leopard for free
    at this point in time. Also a small chance computers might get a little
    improvement too.
     

Share This Page