Mac Mail Autocomplete

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Gowardo, Jul 20, 2012.

  1. Gowardo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    Hi all,

    I have been using Apple Mail for a while with two Gmail accounts, a personal @gmail.com and a business address via Google Apps.

    All works very well except the autocomplete when I type a new email in. How can I get Mail to look into my Google Apps company addresses so that I dont have to type them in everytime? Its a pretty big deal breaker for me if I can't, which means I might just have to stick to web based.

    Thanks,

    G
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
  3. Gowardo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    hmm!

    Well, I thought of that, but we are talking about hundreds of people (I work in a big company). Is there no known way of perhaps feeding the information in through an API or anything like that? I am assuming a vast amount of people use Google Apps addresses with Mail and this issue must have come up a million times, but I cant seem to find anything relevant on the boards.

    Thanks,

    G
     
  4. Gowardo, Jul 20, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2012

    Gowardo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    hmm

    Thanks for the answer.

    I may have not explained myself correctly. These aren't addresses within my Google Apps account address book, I am talking about addresses that (and I have no idea how Google does this through their Apps accounts) autocomplete automatically when I type a name of a person I know works within our organisation, but I don't necessarily have an email for.

    I suppose there is a chance all these addresses are stored somewhere within the Google App Administrator's account, but I am getting a bit off track.

    Does this make more sense?

    Thanks again,

    G

    Edit: What about using something like LDAP?
     
  5. Gowardo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Location:
    London, UK

Share This Page