Mac Memory

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by cooperdiem, May 1, 2009.

1. cooperdiem macrumors newbie

cooperdiem

I'm a photographer and am not all that familliar with Mac.
    I have recently learned how to use iPhoto's many functions.

So my question is: After I've imported all of my pictures into iPhoto do I need to keep all of my files and folder of those images in my finder or can i get rid of them because it's now a part of iPhoto?

2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

Tallest Skil

That isn't memory.

And no, iPhoto doesn't work like that, sadly. If you delete them from wherever they are on your computer without properly adding them to the iPhoto Library, you won't have them there anymore; just broken thumbnails.

It's REALLY annoying, because you can't just copy pictures into the iPhoto Library and delete the ones you had outside the library.

3. cooperdiem thread starter macrumors newbie

cooperdiem

how can i properly import photos so that i can get rid of "repeat files" that take up space on my hard drive?

4. upaymeifixit macrumors 6502a

upaymeifixit

Boy What's Wrong With you?

He can too delete the pictures!

Sorry about that.
    Yeah, If you Import the photos into iPhoto they are copied into the iPhoto.app. In some ways I like this and some I don't.

If you are worried about it test it on one picture.

5. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

Tallest Skil

No, they aren't. You can't just drag photos from somewhere on your hard drive into iPhoto and then delete the photos. They do not copy to the Library, and only thumbnails are left over.

6. BobZune macrumors 6502a

Under iPhoto (iPhoto 08, v 7.1.5 is what I have) menu FILE -- IMPORT TO LIBRARY should import and keep a copy in the library (under your home folder, PICTURES -- IPHOTO LIBRARY but you have to right click and SHOW PACKAGE CONTENTS and navigate to ORIGINALS and follow the organization by year-month-date etc to get at the originals.