Mac Migration - Paid Applications?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by jmpage2, Mar 23, 2009.

  1. jmpage2 macrumors 68030

    jmpage2

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #1
    I'm currently using a Mac Mini as a test drive rig with the plan to eventually migrate to a Mac Pro or iMac sometime between 3-9 months from now.

    My question is, will I be able to migrate/move my paid for applications at that time, or am I expected to buy new licenses for all of those applications when I get the new computer?

    Thanks.
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    You can use Migration Assistant, Carbon Copy Cloner or Time Machine to move everything to your new computer seamlessly

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  3. jmpage2 thread starter macrumors 68030

    jmpage2

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #3
    Okay, so I don't need to repurchase any paid for applications when I move to a new Mac?

    Works for me.
     
  4. maccompaq macrumors 65816

    maccompaq

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #4
    On a Mac, it is fairly easy.

    On Windows, not quite so easy.
     
  5. MistaBungle macrumors 6502a

    MistaBungle

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    #5
    Even if those methods didn't work, all you would have to do is re-enter your serials. No biggie.

    That is my preferred method. I don't like archive & install. I prefer the clean install of an OS and then I go from there.
     

Share This Page