Mac Mini 1.1 Upgrades?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by 655324, Dec 31, 2011.

  1. 655324 Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    #1
    Hi,

    I've bought my first ever Mac off eBay for a great price, only thing is it's an old Mac Mini and it probably is going to need upgrading. Although i've never had a Mac i've been upgrading PCs for years so i'm not necessarily new to getting my hands dirty. I've sourced a new hard drive for it as it only had 80gb and i've looked over many tutorials and videos on how to replace it and i'm feeling pretty confident on replacing it. Thing is though, I thought whilst i'm already opening the case to upgrade the hard drive should i upgrade the 1.66 ghz intel core duo CPU to an intel core 2 duo? I've look on eBay and saw quite a few, would this one fit?

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Intel-Cor...-CPU-/220804297406?pt=UK_Motherboards_CPUs&ha...

    If not, what about this one?

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI....rvr_id=303473030963&mfe=sidebar#ht_500wt_1156

    Or even this one?

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI....rvr_id=303471376395&mfe=sidebar#ht_535wt_1031

    What's the difference between them?

    Don't really want to spend too much, but if I have to i'll wait a bit and save up some money. Do you think this is worth it? As the CPUs on eBay with the M socket are only £10-20 so I thought for that price it must be? Can you offer any other advice or tips?

    This is my first post here and I am hoping you can help,

    Thanks in advance,

    Josh
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    Only one of those would work. The 2006-2007 Mini's need an Intell T7200, T7400, or T7600 as a CPU upgrade. Another thing would be to upgrade the ram to its maximum of 2Gb.
     
  3. 655324 thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    #3
    Okay thanks, i've already maxed out the RAM thanks but they're the only 3 that you can buy that will fit? Would you recommend it?
     
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    Those are the three fastest, with the T7600 being 2.33Ghz, then 2.16Ghz, and 2.0Ghz. I assume the 1.83Ghz one is called the T7000, it'd work as well.
     
  5. 655324, Dec 31, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2011

    655324 thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    #5
  6. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #6
    You can install 3GB if you flash the MacMini 3,1 firmware on a 1,1 (link).
     
  7. 655324 thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    #7
    Would it be hard to do this?
     
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
    I believe that one would work, but you'll have to do some more research first. Coming from a 1.66 CD, you'll notice a big jump going to a 2.0Ghz C2D.

    It isn't too hard, but there is the possibility of bricking your Mac. Only do this if you have another machine to use in the event you brick your Mac.
     
  9. 655324 thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    #9
    I think i'll leave it at 2gb as i've never used Macs before and maybe 6 months down the line i'll decide to do it but thanks anyway.

    As for the CPU, I think i'll go for the Intel Core 2 Duo 2ghz T7200, just one last question-will i then be able to run Lion or is that out of the question?
     
  10. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #10
    Good choice, 2.0 Ghz is still a good speed for modern Macs, despite it being 5 years old. With the Core2Duo CPU you'll have a 64-bit CPU that will allow Lion, but you'll have to remove the SupportPlatforms.plist before it'll boot. There are a few threads about this procedure here on MacRumors.
     
  11. 655324 thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    #11
    Yeah, i've seen a couple of the threads, I think i'll go for it! Thanks for all your quick responses! I'll definatley use this thread again! Any tips for upgrading a CPU? :)
     
  12. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #12
    Be very careful with the plastic clips that hold on the heatsink. The break very easily. I've broken a few and ended up using some nylon nuts and bolts to hold the heatsink on. Here's a good guide on replacing one: http://www.o0o.it/mini/
     
  13. 655324 thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    #13
  14. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #14
    Those look like they are. I don't know the sizes of the ones I used in my Mini.
     
  15. 655324 thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    #15
    Okay thanks for your help, all the best for 2012
     
  16. 655324 thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    #16
    Upgrade Successful!

    Hi,

    I know you probably don't really care but I wanted to kinda give you an update on what i've done. I took your advice and bought a T7400 processor off eBay and I installed it myself (with a few hairy moments were I thought I was going to throw the heatsink pins out the window!!) and everything is now running smooth and a WHOLE LOT FASTER! I can't believe how much of a difference that has made! I just want to thank you for all your help, especially Intell.

    Just a quick question, I dowloaded a widget for my dashboard ( I think it's called iStat) and it says my CPU is running at 60c, is this normal?

    Thanks!
     
  17. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #17
    The T7400 had the same thermal output as the 1.66Ghz CD you had in there before. But its idle temperature may be slightly higher. Glad you got it all working well.
     

Share This Page