Mac Mini 2.0 and Internet TV

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by kermit4161, Nov 30, 2007.

  1. kermit4161 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    #1
    Hi,

    I borrowed a friend's 1.66 Ghz Core Duo Mini to test in my entertainment center. I hooked it up to a Samsung 37" LCD HDTV with a DVI to HDMI cable. The thing ran great and output all major TV network's internet shows in full screen with great quality (especially ABC's site).

    So I purchased a new 2.0 Core 2 Duo Mini, installed 3GB RAM and hooked it up... but now the TV feeds from online are pretty rotten compared to what they were with the older Mini. I can't watch any shows in Full Screen mode, and have to go to 'Normal" screen size for some due to the pixelation.

    I have the latest Flash viewer installed (forget which version, but it was freshly downloaded the other day), FlipMac and DivX installed.

    Is there something I missed in the new Mini's settings (both are running Leopard)... is there something different between the 1.66 Core Duo and the 2.0 Core 2 Duo that effects the quality of viewing shows?

    I'm a bit stumped. I'm hoping it is just a setting somewhere that'll boost the display...

    Thanks!
     
  2. kermit4161 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
  3. gotzero macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Location:
    Mid-Atlantic, US
    #3
    Is your mini outputting 16:10 as opposed to 16:9 on your friend's?

    Grab a program like SwitchResX and make sure you are sending a native signal to your television, both resolution and refresh rate.
     
  4. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #4
    bad cables? connection? provider signal? im reaching.
     
  5. iCube macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #5
    Sorry, I've been racking my brain since you posted it.
    Can you get the 1.66 back and swap back and forth to see what's going on?
    I truly can't think of anything...
     
  6. iMan G5 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    #6
    Did you do anything to your setup other than put a newer mini in it? You only installed a few programs?
     
  7. kermit4161 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    #7
    I wish I could, but I was troubleshooting that Mini for work and it went back already. That was why I bought my 2.0. I liked it so much that I had to have one!

    --Did you do anything to your setup other than put a newer mini in it? You only installed a few programs?

    No... it was the same software load as on the older Mini.


    It might be fixed though... I'm beginning to think it was either my ISP or the networks last week. I watched a couple of shows this a.m. and things look much better than before.

    Gotzero...I am interested in the SwitchRezX program. That'd be nice for diagnostics.

    Thanks all :D
     

Share This Page