Mac Mini 2007 to iMac G3

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by Arkious, Jan 30, 2012.

  1. Arkious macrumors 6502a

    Arkious

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, UK
    #1
    Hi All,

    Im hoping some of you might be able to offer some help here, i dont know if any of you have seen my thread 'iMac G3 Revival'

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1304637

    But my plan is to fit a Mac Mini into the G3, so that it utilises the case as much as possible. So the original drive and hard drive locations will be used which basically leaves the motherboard from the mac mini to fit in place of the original board, but only the original connections on the g3 will be hooked up.

    Tonight i am going to make an adaptor lead to change the original DB-15 to VGA, this will allow full usage of the iMacs CRT. My main problem is powering the Mini, i dont have the power brick and would like to get away from using it. Surely the Minis board uses standard 3.3V 6V and 12V like a normal Mac or PC, its just a matter of finding out the locations.

    The mini i am looking at is the Mac Mini 2007 CS 1.5, a broken one which i am hoping to fix and upgrade to the C2D 2.2. This should allow a complicated upgrade to OS Lion, but does anyone know how these things hold up for gaming etc? Obviously, once this Mod has been done it will allow for future upgrades if necassary.

    If anyone can offer any help it would be much appreciated!
     
  2. Arkious thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Arkious

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, UK
  3. cperry2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #3
    Sounds like it could work, but really? VGA CRT, a core2duo and asking how it performs for gaming? I can't help in terms of building it, but I can tell you to prepare to be disappointed if you want to play anything graphics intensive.

    Correct me if I'm wrong, but I get the impression that at this point you're getting into Hackintosh territory, were it not for the logic board (as opposed to a motherboard). Cool hobby though.
     
  4. Arkious thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Arkious

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, UK
    #4
    Tbh, the way I'm looking at it is that, once it's modified to fit the minis 'logic board' it shouldn't need much more mods for future upgrades. I don't expect anything fantastic, that's what the i7 iMac is for... This is just to say yeah I have a core 2 duo bondi blue iMac lol

    Actually as long as it runs minecraft, my little brothers have something to play on when they come round lol
     
  5. reebzor macrumors 6502a

    reebzor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #5
    What would be nicer and probably easier is to find a cheap 15" LCD, and fit that inside the iMac G3's case.
     
  6. Arkious thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Arkious

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, UK
    #6
    the CRT is fully working, the LCD in a G3 looks terrible because of all the gaps. but your probably right about it being easier due to the refresh rates.
     
  7. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #7
    I'm pretty sure the CRT won't turn on unless the iMac's logicboard is in there as well. The video cable alone isn't able to turn it one\.
     
  8. Arkious thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Arkious

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, UK
    #8
    yeah i have to work around that lol, im limited to what i can and cant do until i get the mini. should find out shortly ^.^
     
  9. Arkious thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Arkious

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, UK
    #9
    well i got a faulty MB138B/A 2007 Mac Mini for £46, basically it doesnt turn on and apparently its common for the noise reducing caps to short on the main boards so hopefully! i get this working.

    Once this is working, im hoping i can locate the hefty power pack somewhere inside, but im not gonna use a mac mini one... im going to solder directly a smaller scale laptop one using the same output voltage. Of course to get the thing working though im going to need to use a standard mini brick for testing purposes.

    the next thing is though is getting the video to work. As far as i can tell it should just plug in with the adapter ive made
     
  10. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #10
    And you're wrong. Check second paragraph ;)

    http://www.steveferrisworld.com/Zotac_Powered_Grape_iMac_revD/

    OP: I hope for great step by step (with technical details and pics) when you'll accomplish this mod :)
     
  11. Arkious thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Arkious

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, UK
    #11
    dont you worry about that, i sure will do ^.^

    i love a challenge, the 1st one is to get this bluddy mini working when it arrives. its only running a core solo... but i shall be getting a 2.2 when i get it working and installed, its easier to upgrade once its fitted lol.

    Am i right in saying apple displays run at 75Hz instead of the normal 60Hz?
     
  12. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #12
    You can't run a C2D 2.2Ghz in a 06-07 Mac Mini. The fastest is 2.33Ghz and the next fastest is 2.16Ghz.
     
  13. Arkious thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Arkious

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, UK
    #13
    thanks for the heads up, what are the reasons mate? least i know what to look for ^.^

    ----------

    btw the mini has arrived today, it has a 1.5 core solo in it as the guy that had it last took the 2ghz out and put the solo in here. it has 2gb of ram but won't power up. i don't have a PSU yet but I'm gonna rebuild it and take it into apple, wonder if they will help me diagnose it :)
     
  14. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #14
    The limiting factor is the system bus of 667mhz. The fastest CPU for it is the Intell 2.33 GHz Core 2 Duo (T7600), then the 2.16 GHz Core 2 Duo (T7400).
     
  15. Arkious thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Arkious

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, UK
    #15
    what a mare these minis are to try and problem solve with! The power supplies go to safe mode so when i plug it in i get the whole of nothing to test with!

    anyone had any issues with power on the mac mini, ive tried different power supplies, my next attempt it to directly solder a HP Compaq 19V charger directly to the board so that it doesnt go 'to safe mode'. id rather know whats broken when its starts to smoke lol!
     

Share This Page