Mac Mini (2010) server - is there a way to set it to run in Raid 0?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by GodWhomIsMike, Jun 21, 2010.

  1. GodWhomIsMike macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #1
    Mac Mini (2010) server - is there a way to set it to run in Raid 0? Seems like if there is, this might be the most economical way to get the quickest Mac Mini possible, without having to rip it open at all. Just plug in a back-up drive or two, and set to do automatic backups overnight.


    .
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
  3. GodWhomIsMike thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #3
    Well, in that case, seems like the 2010 Mini Server will be the little beast that could then. :D

    Would love to see a benchmark of that. :)

    Are their any benchmarks around of the 2.53 GHz Mac Mini server set up with Raid 0? I assume that the 2010 would be very similar in performance, with the addition of a little more graphical muscle.
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    [​IMG]

    2010 model has 7200 rpm HDs while 2009 has 5400rpm so it's even faster with the new Mini
     
  5. i7QuadCoreMania macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    #5
    Hmm... let me see if I can try benchmark it. I reloaded my 2010 Mini server to osx client 10.6.4 and on RAID 0 (did it thru disk utility before I installed OSX client 10.6.3 from the disc and updated to 10.6.4)
     
  6. GodWhomIsMike thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #6
    Awesome win if you do it. :)
     
  7. cherry su macrumors 65816

    cherry su

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #7
    Too bad it isn't hardware RAID. I suspect the software RAID is going to be quite a bit slower. Interestingly, the aforementioned benchmarks beg to differ (Mac Pro vs. Mac mini RAID), but I'm still not fully convinced.
     
  8. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #8
    Depends on your view.

    Hardware RAID (not assisted) > Software RAID > single drive

    assuming the same drive is used for comparison purposes. RAID 0 has no real impact on the CPU, as there's no calculations for parity. It's just stripe here, stripe there, stripe here, etc. The same applies for RAID 1.

    RAID 5/6 is where you can really bottleneck things in a hurry with a software RAID.
     

Share This Page