Mac Mini 2012 upgrade components/accessories

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by askj, Nov 4, 2014.

1. askj, Nov 4, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2014

askj macrumors newbie

Hi,
    In general I am new to mac world, I started using macbook air two years back, just as a normal web/iphoto user. I just bought a mac mini 2012 i5 with 4GB and 500GB hdd. I installed xbmc on this and planning to use as media center. I installed yosemite also, I noticed that it is using very high RAM.

I want to install a 16 GB RAM and either 256 GB or (512 GB, only if I get it at really good price) SSD.

I read lot of forums and it is all over the place and I am not able to understand which RAM/SSD I should get.

I heard that there are issues of TRIM with yosemite, and some people are saying that do not use TRIM at all.

There are some deals coming through for Crucial m500 mSATA and PNY. I read about SSDs in general and people are recommending samsung evo 840 and above, I do not know which one will work and be good with mac mini? Basically I am looking for something decent and long term.

Now regarding putting SSD into mac mini, Should I take the gut to put it inside or running through USB is also equally good?

I also want to know which wireless small keyboard/mouse will be good for this, as it will be there near the TV, so I want smaller version of keyboard

2. cinealta macrumors 6502

Get the 16 Gb Mac Mini RAM kit from Crucial. You don't need this much for a media center though. Yosemite uses all available RAM even if your system isn't currently using it.

Get the 512 Gb Crucial MX100 SSD (don't get the Samsung 840 EVO at this time, there is an issue with the firmware).

Put the SSD inside the Mini (SATA connection is faster than USB)

Yes there is an issue with TRIM on Yosemite. Check the TRIM manufacturer website for any possible workarounds.

Get the Apple wireless keyboard and Magic Mouse trackpad.

3. Bollockser macrumors regular