Mac mini + 30" ACD

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by malenfant, Oct 17, 2007.

  1. malenfant macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    #1
    Should be a short answer: Can you use a 30" ACD with a Mac mini?
     
  2. Leon Kowalski macrumors 6502a

    Leon Kowalski

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    Gondwanaland Reunification Front HQ
    #2
    Depends on what definition of "use" you use.

    ...short enough?

    LK
     
  3. Techguy172 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    #3
    No
     
  4. odedia macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    #4
    The answer is YES, if you use a VGA adapter.

    You will most probably NOT get the full resolution of the display though.
     
  5. juxtaposer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Location:
    In A Field
    #5
    Connect the DVI-out in the back of the Mini to the DVI-in on the rear of the ACD....
    Don't see why it wouldn't work ... :confused:
     
  6. FatSweatyBlldog macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    #6
    Because the Mini's video card doesn't support resolutions as high as the native resolution of the 30'' ACD. A limitation of the Mini's graphics hardware, not any type of connection issue.
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    The 30" LCD doesn't have VGA inputs though.
     
  8. mBurns macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    I've seen a Mac Mini hooked up to a 30" ACD at CDW. Granted, I thought it was a terrible way to advertise the 30" display and I didn't really mess with the machine/display although I was extremely perplexed and in 'ahh' that the machine was running the big 30 incher. I doubt it was running at full resolution though, the screen didn't look very crisp.
     
  9. Leon Kowalski macrumors 6502a

    Leon Kowalski

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    Gondwanaland Reunification Front HQ
    #9
    The mini cannot run the 30" ACD at its full native resolution (2560x1600).

    The ADC has no analog inputs ...what do you want for only $1800?

    The mini's maximum digital output resolution is 1920x1200

    The 30" ACD spec sheet lists 1900x1200 as a supported resolution

    Some folks have reported being unable to make the 30" ACD work at 1920x1200

    ...so, it all depends on what definition of "use" you use,

    LK

    P.S. Please excuse the lengthy reply.
     

Share This Page