Mac Mini + 30" Cinema Display

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by jnoxx, May 30, 2012.

  1. jnoxx macrumors 65816

    jnoxx

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Location:
    Aartselaar // Antwerp // Belgium
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I'm waiting for the new IVY bridges to come out to get me the new Mac Mini..
    But I did buy 2x 30" Cinema Led Displays, 1 for my gaming pc and 1 for my new Mac Mini.
    I have heard some rumors that you couldn't attach the 30" to the Mac Mini, but I don't believe that, i'm quite sure there is a small converter (i heard about the dual display port), to make it all work.

    Anyone knows how it works exactly?

    Gz, Noxx
     
  2. kfury77, May 30, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2012

    kfury77 macrumors regular

    kfury77

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Osaka, Japan
    #2
    Currently, there is no way to get a 2560x1600 signal out of the mid-2011 Mac mini.

    Why did you buy an old 30" Cinema Display and not the newer 27" Cinema Display with Thunderbolt? That would have been a better option I'd have thought?

    UPDATE: Apologies for posting misinformation about the Mac mini output resolution. I researched this topic and saw that someone 'confirmed' it wasn't possible so I copied his response - clearly it was incorrect. I've now downranked my own post!
     
  3. jnoxx thread starter macrumors 65816

    jnoxx

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Location:
    Aartselaar // Antwerp // Belgium
    #3
    But even with the lower resolution, will it still work? That's the main deal.
    And why did I buy the older ones, first of all, because I got them so cheap I couldn't resist, and I liked the design more :)
    But base question, I can just get it to work, exept the high res output?
     
  4. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #4
    Where did you get that?

    This knowledge base article confirms my initial thought that it will work perfectly using an active (operative word!) mDP to dual-link DVI adapter with native (full) resolution.

    @jnoxx: Have fun with that gorgeous setup!
     
  5. jnoxx thread starter macrumors 65816

    jnoxx

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Location:
    Aartselaar // Antwerp // Belgium
    #5
    Thank you my good sir, I will have a go :)
     
  6. SR45 macrumors 65832

    SR45

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #6
    I have the Mini DisplayPort to Dual-Link DVI adapter hooked up to my MacMini 2011 (Integrated Video as well) and Dell 3007 FWP monitor, and the max resolutions works just fine. Where did you get your information that it won't work ?
     
  7. kwijbo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    #7
    See attached, using Mini DisplayPort to DisplayPort.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #8
    Indeed. As the other posters have noted, the TB port on the mini is capable of displaying up to 2560x1600, which is the 30" ACD's resolution. The HDMI port on the mini can display up to 1920x1200, which is great for a 24" 16:10 monitor.
     
  9. benjyhe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    #9
    I'm curious as to how this setup worked out - I'm hoping to do similar thing and haven't seen anything about how well the newer minis, with integrated graphics, drove the 30" ACD behemoths. Working well?
     
  10. jayfire124 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #10
    I would also like to know. I have a 2012 Mac Mini with thunderbolt and have returned a new out of the box ATD due to a blue hue and cool colour saturation throughout. The "whites" were no where near as good as those on my 2008 iMac 24".

    There is one on ebay which I am tempted to bid on but it is 8 years old. What prices do they go for in the UK ??
     
  11. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #11
    Pretty certain you can do this but you need a dual link DVI of sorts. If my 2004 PowerBook G4 could drive a 30" ACD, then the newer minis should be able to with proper adapters. A dual link DVI is not cheap though.
     

Share This Page