Mac mini 8GB RAM

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by cherry su, Mar 4, 2009.

  1. cherry su macrumors 65816

    cherry su

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #1
    Hi all,

    Does anyone know if Mac mini (Mar 09) can handle 8GB RAM? Has anyone tried?

    Thanks.
     
  2. jjahshik32 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #2
    I'm pretty sure its limited to 4gb. Otherwise it would get an option for the $1000 more for the 8gb option (why wouldnt apple do this if they can make the $$).
     
  3. Smacky macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #3
    4gb is the max
    There was a thread in the news section
     
  4. billystlyes macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
  5. Spares macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    #5
    don't be fooled, macbooks are capable of running with 6 gigs of RAM but its not offered on the site
     
  6. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #6
    Maybe possible with a firmware upgrade and better supported in Snow Leopard...
     
  7. OldMike macrumors 6502

    OldMike

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #7
    Thanks for posting this. I have been on the lookout for conclusive proof of the max memory the new minis will be able to use. The story you linked to said:

    :eek::apple::eek:

    Say it isn't so... Purposely limiting the mini to 4GB, when if in fact it can technically utilize more, would just be ridiculous. I did notice in the quote above that they state 2x4GB does not work, however they never really said if 1x2GB and 1x4GB actually allows the mini to utilize 6GB.

    I am still going to keep my fingers crossed until some other reports pop up stating whether or not it might be possible...
     
  8. cherry su thread starter macrumors 65816

    cherry su

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #8
    if apple did limit the memory in the firmware like they did with the core duo machines, then that's a big bummer
     
  9. haveagorilla macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #9
    Any indication of whether they tried Boot Camp/Windows with the 8 GB machine?
     
  10. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

  11. inVaUSA macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Location:
    Virginia
    #11
    why?

    what are you doing that you need 8GB of ram on a mini? I could understand that if you were able to upgrade the processor, but it isn't socketed.
     
  12. Michael Belisle macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    College Station, TX, USA
    #12
    You've asked the inevitable question that someone always asks in a thread of this type. (512K ought to be enough for anyone, right?)

    Mac OS X will use as much memory as you give it. When you run a dozen programs at once, virtualize an OS (or two), or run memory-hungry programs like Logic Pro or Mainstage, you pass 4 GB of active memory rather easily.

    I have a Mac Pro with 24 GB of RAM and I'm usually using at least 14 GB by the end of the day. I also just bought a new Mac mini and I'd add more than 4 GB too, if it supported it and it was economical (neither of which are currently true).
     
  13. haveagorilla macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #13
    According to Wikipedia, Boot Camp will work with some 64-bit operating systems.
     
  14. desantii macrumors 6502

    desantii

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Location:
    Aurora, IL
    #14
    I have bootcamp 64 with Vista 64 and it works fine
     
  15. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #15
    No one has tried 6GB yet and reported on it that I've found....I'm holding out hope 6GB will work since it does on the iMac and MB.
     
  16. phrehdd macrumors 68040

    phrehdd

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #16
    I second that thought. Would be curious to see if a 2+4 would work.

    - Phrehdd
     
  17. OldMike macrumors 6502

    OldMike

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #17
    Maybe no one has tried because the 4 GB DDR3 memory goes for $350+ per stick.

    Hopefully the prices will drop soon, and somebody will give it a try...
     
  18. rrijkers macrumors 6502

    rrijkers

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #18
    The other same mobo machine can handle it and nvidia told us that too. Way overpriced now, better to just upgrade RAM now and upgrade the rest when it's affordable in about a year or 1.5
     
  19. libertyforall macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    #19
    8 GB RAM with EFI 1.2 Update?!

    Hrmm, is this Mac Mini EFI update for supporting 8 GB RAM now?!

    Anyone test it? What are the latest Apple memory kits? One has to assume bigger ones... :cool:

    http://support.apple.com/kb/DL888

    "About Mac mini EFI Firmware Update 1.2
    This update improves compatibility with the latest Apple memory kits on Mac mini computers."

     
  20. ADent macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #20
    They did it with the original Core Duo/Solo minis - they won't boot with more than 2GB installed. The Core 2 Duo machines are identical and can have 4GB installed.
     
  21. mercuryguy macrumors member

    mercuryguy

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    Tampa
    #22
    bump.

    Anyone trying to install 8G on the new late 2009 macmini.
     
  22. dsiew81 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #23
    Wow. So by your reasoning, you *must* be right.

    Seriously, wait a while and see if it is officially supported like the Quad Nehalem MP.
     
  23. darrellishere macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #24
    Yes you can, a resent EFI Firmware upgrade makes up to 8 Gigs possible. If you have the money. 2009 mac mini and the new mini and server ones two.

    (engage mac mini teardown)
     
  24. alent1234 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #25
    these days you get more value upgrading to more RAM than a faster CPU
     

Share This Page