Mac Mini & Achieva Shimian 27" PROBLEM

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by connorgettel, Oct 4, 2012.

  1. connorgettel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    #1
    Hello,

    Was hoping someone on here could help me out. I recently purchased one of those cheap Korean monitors, the ones that take the A- Grade 27" screens from apple and re-case them and sell them for a third of the price. I've not got any stuck pixels at all, monitor is beautiful... Aside from the fact I can't get it to go to the full 2560x1440 res it's promised. I'm using a 2011 Mac Mini, Mini Display port to DVI-Dual cable. This should theoretically give me the full 1440p but i'm stuck at 1920x1200. Very annoying. There don't appear to be any drivers i can download for the monitor, and i'm out of ideas. There's a link to the monitor below.

    Anyone's help would be much appreciated! :)


    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ACHIEVA-S...tn=21&pmod=230774446127&ps=54#ht_14581wt_1081
     
  2. omvs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #2
    It sounds like you might have a MDP -> single link DVI adapter, not dual - does the adapter have a USB connection as well as the MDP to power the adapter?

    I've driven the QH-270 using both a 2009 mini and a 2011 iMac with the apple adapter (http://store.apple.com/uk/product/MB571Z/A/mini-displayport-to-dual-link-dvi-adapter)

    Its too bad the QH-270 doesn't have a display port connector like some other variants, because then a cheap passive cable is all that works.
     
  3. connorgettel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    #3
    I'm using the exact adapter you linked. Definitely dual. Any other ideas? I'm so annoyed I can't get this figured out! Cheers for for help.
     
  4. lixuelai macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
  5. connorgettel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    #5
    Hey Lixuelai,

    I exported the EDID, tried to force it based on the results, still no such luck. Says the resolution is invalid in the status. Have a look at the EDID results.

    Thanks for the advice.


    DDC block report generated by SwitchResX version 4.3.3 for display
    DIGITAL


    -----------------------------------------------------
    ------------------- RAW DATA ------------------------
    -----------------------------------------------------
    0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 A B C D E F
    -----------------------------------------------------
    0 | 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 04 62 87 10 00 00 00 00
    1 | 14 16 01 03 88 30 1B 78 2A 3D 81 A6 56 4A 9A 24
    2 | 12 50 54 BF EF 80 D1 40 81 00 A9 40 81 80 95 00
    3 | B3 00 D1 C0 71 40 56 5E 00 A0 A0 A0 29 50 28 20
    4 | 35 00 55 50 21 00 00 1A 28 3C 80 A0 70 B0 23 40
    5 | 30 20 26 00 55 30 21 00 00 1A 00 00 00 FD 00 38
    6 | 4B 1E 5B 19 00 0A 20 20 20 20 20 20 00 00 00 FC
    7 | 00 44 49 47 49 54 41 4C 0A 20 20 20 20 20 00 93

    -----------------------------------------------------
    < 00FFFFFF FFFFFF00 04628710 00000000 14160103 88301B78 2A3D81A6 564A9A24 125054BF EF80D140 8100A940 81809500 B300D1C0 7140565E 00A0A0A0 29502820 35005550 2100001A 283C80A0 70B02340 30202600 55302100 001A0000 00FD0038 4B1E5B19 000A2020 20202020 000000FC 00444947 4954414C 0A202020 20200093 >

    -----------------------------------------------------
    { 0x00, 0xFF, 0xFF, 0xFF, 0xFF, 0xFF, 0xFF, 0x00, 0x04, 0x62, 0x87, 0x10, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x14, 0x16, 0x01, 0x03, 0x88, 0x30, 0x1B, 0x78, 0x2A, 0x3D, 0x81, 0xA6, 0x56, 0x4A, 0x9A, 0x24, 0x12, 0x50, 0x54, 0xBF, 0xEF, 0x80, 0xD1, 0x40, 0x81, 0x00, 0xA9, 0x40, 0x81, 0x80, 0x95, 0x00, 0xB3, 0x00, 0xD1, 0xC0, 0x71, 0x40, 0x56, 0x5E, 0x00, 0xA0, 0xA0, 0xA0, 0x29, 0x50, 0x28, 0x20, 0x35, 0x00, 0x55, 0x50, 0x21, 0x00, 0x00, 0x1A, 0x28, 0x3C, 0x80, 0xA0, 0x70, 0xB0, 0x23, 0x40, 0x30, 0x20, 0x26, 0x00, 0x55, 0x30, 0x21, 0x00, 0x00, 0x1A, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0xFD, 0x00, 0x38, 0x4B, 0x1E, 0x5B, 0x19, 0x00, 0x0A, 0x20, 0x20, 0x20, 0x20, 0x20, 0x20, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0xFC, 0x00, 0x44, 0x49, 0x47, 0x49, 0x54, 0x41, 0x4C, 0x0A, 0x20, 0x20, 0x20, 0x20, 0x20, 0x00, 0x93, }

    -----------------------------------------------------
    Valid EDID block: checksum passed

    -----------------------------------------------------
    ------------------- MAIN EDID BLOCK -----------------
    -----------------------------------------------------

    EDID Version........1.3
    Manufacturer........ACB
    Product Code........34576 (8710) (1087)
    Serial Number.......00000000

    Manufactured........Week 20 of year 2012
    Max H Size..........48 cm
    Max V Size..........27 cm
    Gamma...............2.20

    Display Supported Features:
    ---------------------------
    Power Management: Active off

    Display type:
    -------------
    RGB 4:4:4 & YCrCb 4:4:4 Color Encoding Formats
    Display is non continuous frequency
    Default color space is not sRGB standard
    Preferred timing mode includes Native Pixel Format


    Input signal & sync:
    --------------------
    Digital Input
    Color Bit Depth is undefined


    Color info:
    -----------
    Red x = 0.648 Green x = 0.292 Blue x = 0.143 White x = 0.312
    Red y = 0.339 Green y = 0.603 Blue y = 0.070 White y = 0.329

    Established Timings:
    --------------------
    720 x 400 @ 70Hz
    640 x 480 @ 60Hz
    640 x 480 @ 67Hz
    640 x 480 @ 72Hz
    640 x 480 @ 75Hz
    800 x 600 @ 56Hz
    800 x 600 @ 60Hz
    800 x 600 @ 72Hz
    800 x 600 @ 75Hz
    832 x 624 @ 75Hz
    1024 x 768 @ 60Hz
    1024 x 768 @ 70Hz
    1024 x 768 @ 75Hz
    1280 x 1024 @ 75Hz

    Manufacturer Reserved Timings:
    ------------------------------
    1152 x 870 @ 75Hz

    Standard Timing Identification:
    -------------------------------
    #0: 1920 x 1440 @ 60Hz (D140)
    #1: 1280 x 800 @ 60Hz (8100)
    #2: 1600 x 1200 @ 60Hz (A940)
    #3: 1280 x 1024 @ 60Hz (8180)
    #4: 1440 x 900 @ 60Hz (9500)
    #5: 1680 x 1050 @ 60Hz (B300)
    #6: 1920 x 1080 @ 60Hz (D1C0)
    #7: 1152 x 864 @ 60Hz (7140)

    Monitor Description blocks:
    ---------------------------
    Descriptor #0 - Timing definition:
    Mode = 2560 x 1440 @ 59.951Hz
    Pixel Clock............. 241.50 MHz Non-Interlaced

    Horizontal Vertical
    Active.................. 2560 pixels 1440 lines
    Front Porch............. 40 pixels 3 lines
    Sync Width.............. 32 pixels 5 lines
    Back Porch.............. 88 pixels 33 lines
    Blanking................ 160 pixels 41 lines
    Total................... 2720 pixels 1481 lines
    Scan Rate............... 88.787 kHz 59.951 Hz

    Image Size.............. 597 mm 336 mm
    Border.................. 0 pixels 0 lines

    Sync: Digital separate with
    * Negative vertical polarity
    * Positive horizontal polarity

    Descriptor #1 - Timing definition:
    Mode = 1920 x 1200 @ 59.950Hz
    Pixel Clock............. 154.00 MHz Non-Interlaced

    Horizontal Vertical
    Active.................. 1920 pixels 1200 lines
    Front Porch............. 48 pixels 2 lines
    Sync Width.............. 32 pixels 6 lines
    Back Porch.............. 80 pixels 27 lines
    Blanking................ 160 pixels 35 lines
    Total................... 2080 pixels 1235 lines
    Scan Rate............... 74.038 kHz 59.950 Hz

    Image Size.............. 597 mm 304 mm
    Border.................. 0 pixels 0 lines

    Sync: Digital separate with
    * Negative vertical polarity
    * Positive horizontal polarity

    Descriptor #2 - Monitor limits:
    Horizontal frequency range.......30-91 kHz
    Vertical frequency range.........56-75 Hz
    Maximum bandwidth unspecified

    Descriptor #3 - Monitor name:
    DIGITAL
     
  6. omvs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #6
    Does your mini have the Radeon GPU, or just the HD 3000? It shouldn't make a difference from what I saw online, but I'm starting to wonder if the HD3000 is limited on the mini for some reason.

    Do you happen to have a bootcamp partition to see if it works under windows?


    You could also try running 2560x1440x40Hz (only needs single-link), but not all monitors can handle that. Specifically, my QH-270 will not lock at that rate, and it can be difficult to undo that if SwitchResX thinks its a valid mode. http://www.madrau.com/support/faq/files/Ive_defined_a_new_resolution_an.html
     
  7. Sniff macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    #7
    Have you tried the screen on a PC to verify that it works at all?


    Not that it helps, but my QH-270 Lite, with the Monoprice adapter, worked out of the box, the mini recognized it immediately and auto set the resolution. I have a base model 2011...


    I would verify it with another computer, and maybe at least start the RMA process...
     
  8. servant119b macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    #8
    Please Help

    I bought an ACHIEVA Shimian QH270-IPSI 27". I hooked it up to a mid-2011 27" iMac using a mini-display port to dvi-d adapter. It is in dual screen mode. The iMac detects the monitor and its 2560x1440 resolution and let's you drag windows over to it, but the problem is nothing shows up on the QH270 monitor. The monitor is slightly backlit but totally blank. In my imac control panel in the display section when you select "Gather Windows" it shows a window for DVI monitor but doesn't have any resolutions listed.

    What do I need to do to get this monitor working on this iMac? Even if it's complicated, please tell me. Thanks.
     
  9. RoastingPig macrumors 68000

    RoastingPig

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
    #9
    are you using a dual link dvi adapter and if so wich model i heard only the apple brand works with this moniter when i had a shimian thats the only one i could get to work the brief moment i had one i ended up selling due to problems hear and there and got the dell 27
     
  10. servant119b macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    #10
    To answer your question...

    I am trying to use this one:

    http://store.apple.com/us/product/MB570Z/B/mini-displayport-to-dvi-adaptor#

    but it is not working. Are you saying I need this one:

    http://store.apple.com/us/product/MB571Z/A/mini-displayport-to-dual-link-dvi-adapter

    ?

    The terminology is confusing because dvi-d means dual link but then at the same time it's not a dual link dvi but if you just answer my question I'll be fine. The guy at the apple store said I could use the dvi-d for $29 to hook up a 2560x1440 as a 2nd monitor but it's not working....
     
  11. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #11
    No. DVI-D means DVI Digital. You can have both Single or Dual DVI-D's.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DVI

    The first one you linked to is DVI-D Single. You need the more expensive Dual-link adapter.

    EDIT: I know you already have the monitor, but I can't stress to people enough that these Cheap Korean panels just do not work (and are not worth) buying for Macs. Even at $350-400 you have to add a $100 MDP to Dual DVI cable (so that it sorta works) which means you are paying 450-500 for the display and cable. Dell just had a deal that made the 2713HM for only 504 and it has displayport which means it needs no expensive dongle and has a better warranty.

    EDIT 2: The only one worth considering other than the Dell is the Microcenter Auria 27" for 400 since it does have displayport.
     
  12. servant119b macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    #12
    Thanks

    Thanks for clearing that up. So you sold your Achieva ShiMian QH270-IPSI because of problems here and there? What kind of issues did you run into?

    You were using a 27" iMac?
     
  13. servant119b macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    #13
    Wish I knew what I know

    I wish I knew before I bought this thing what I know how.

    Yeah, Microcenter has that 27" for $398. I didn't know I'd need a $100 cable.

    How do you recommend I sell this brand new 27" Korean monitor (and for how much should I ask)? I've never really sold anything online before.
     
  14. RoastingPig macrumors 68000

    RoastingPig

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
    #14
    you can get one on amazon used for around 55$ instead of buying new. a few problems were the power brick would start smelling like burnt plastic and some times randomly the screen would just black out. i had it on 2011 mac mini. i resold to my friend who has a gaming pc rig and his graphic card had a dual link dvi output so he had no problems or need for a adapter. the screen was beautiful but the case it was in was not so sturdy and was wobbly.

    ----------

    i sold mine for 3 bills to a friend who knew already about these korean monitors so it was a easy sell as for selling it yourself you could try craigslist and hope a guy who know about them comes callin because to other people they think its like a knockoff sony tv or something
     

Share This Page