Mac Mini as a portable?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Bioguy35, Aug 11, 2011.

1. Bioguy35 macrumors newbie

Hello everyone. I'm new to mac and need some buying advice. My wife and I are both teachers and are looking for a computer/laptop.

We currently have an HP G62 laptop (AMD Phenom triple core processor, 4GB RAM and 500 GB HD) running Windows 7, which was new at the beginning of the last school year. We are lifelong pc users, but after my second 'black screen of death' problem in 6 months, I'm thinking of making the switch to mac, and I'm looking for a low cost 'trial' version with the possibility of spending more if things work out.

I do most of my work at school with the laptop docked at a computer workstation. I carry the laptop back and forth from home to school. My wife does all of her computer work at home using a docked Acer laptop. She rarely carries her laptop to school. Both schools are windows based using Open Office and occasionally Mircosoft Word.

I was thinking of buying a mac mini for $579 at the education store to carry back and forth for now. I would hook it up to peripherals (dvi monitor, usb keyboard, usb mouse, usb printer) that we already own both at school and at home (ie. I have a set of peripherals at school, and a second set at home). Later, if things go well, I would purchase a 13" MBP to carry back and forth, and make the mini a permanent desktop at home for my wife to use.

I would be using our purchase for lesson plan research(internet) and writing (word processing), picture editing, email, light gaming, and occasional video editing. Since we are keeping the HP laptop for now, I think it would be best if we could dual boot windows 7 and lion.